Print Thread
Idaho Hunts #6811523 07/04/17 01:04 AM
T
Texaspilot Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
T
I have a problem and I hope y'all can help. I am totally new to the sport of hunting. I just recently bought a rifle and got it sighted in. I started scouting he Sam Houston national forest and was hoping to do a hog hunt and a deer hunt this fall. Now, my company is moving me to Boise. I'm sure the hunting is probably good there, but I am disappointed that all my scouting and ground time here is now in vain. I've been dying to go on my first deer hunt this fall, so to get over the disappointment of not only leaving my home here in Texas, but of not doing the hunt, I am thinking I will try to find a guided hunt up there this fall, since I have no idea what to expect in that part of the country. I was wondering if any one here can recommend a good hunt up there that won't break the bank?

If I can't find one up there, maybe I'll do at least a hog hunt here before I leave home, but I really want to do deer and I will be away by the fall cry

Re: Idaho Hunts [Re: Texaspilot] #6811609 07/04/17 02:51 AM
Bbear Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
Not certain on availability of over the counter tags but you can always check with the IDFG (Idaho Fish & Game) about places that you could walk in and hunt. Best advice is to find someplace where few, if any, other people are. The further from the road the better. There is plenty of game to be found in Idaho, including wolves.
I've hunted in the Salmon/Challis area on the east-central side of the state. Be working on getting in condition like never before.

One final thing, most states require 60-90 days in state before you are considered a resident. Also, check on their hunter ed requirements.

[IMG][/IMG]

Pay it forward - Kids are the future.

Rifles are similar to boats and young women...there's no end to how much money you can pour into them without making them any more useful.