Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics536,621
Posts9,714,997
Members86,971
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
College Kid/First Time Dog Trainer Seeking any advice to help #6047164 11/24/15 03:48 PM
A
Aggie 18 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
A
Hi,
I am a Sophomore at Texas A&M planning on getting a female black lab puppy. I really want to train her the right way and am seeking any advice or tools that could help me. I have read everything online and watched every video possible but really want more. I have researched some of the training program dvds/books and they are out of a college kids budget. If anyone has any training material lying around they aren't using i'd really appreciate the opportunity to borrow them. I will return in a timely manner and reimburse for shipping.

Thanks

Last edited by Aggie 18; 11/24/15 03:54 PM.
Re: College Kid/First Time Dog Trainer Seeking any advice to help [Re: Aggie 18] #6047226 11/24/15 04:21 PM
H
hunting_guy Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
H
Hi Aggie!

I purchased my second pup last July and have been training him myself since that point.

Just make sure before you even get your dog that you research his parents, make sure they have some good hunting certs in front of their names and that their parents hunt, and they have all clearances. You can research titles and bloodlines online fairly easily. Review some tips on picking a puppy before you go as well.

When you first get your pup (should be around 7 weeks old):