Print Thread
Anyone try this? #6479295 10/04/16 12:06 AM
O
okie44 Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
O
I've done my share of stupid stuff. I would never try this! loco This from the Cast Boolits site.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?317206-Warning-Major-reloading-Accident-last-night-!

"Warning : Major reloading Accident last night !
2 reasons for this post. 1st to hopefully help someone to not have this happen to them and second get some opinions on how to proceed. First a little background on the issue. I am ok but did spent a few hours in the emergency room last night getting 9 stiches in both hands and stomach.

I have been reloading for over 40 years and have been doing this process for almost all of those years .It started with having problems on my progressive press seating primers deep enough in 38 special cases to have consistent firing. Came to this conclusion when the second strike on the primer they would go off. Gun....S&W 686 357/38 Special Pro w/ 5" barrel. Primer are some off the wall PMC's I bought when primers were hard to find. A lot of them seat really hard hence the issue with some not being seated firmly enough. Anyway, in the past I would then feel the cases to check for high primers, or in the case of these I just started running all loaded cases back thru seating primers a second time with my Lee hand held just to feel the primers seating correctly. I know, even in my mind this was a little " walking on the edge" but again I have always done this on other occasions and do take extreme caution to insure the primers are reseated without too much force. I feel with the Lee hand primer this can be felt easily as you apply pressure. Well, as by know I am sure you know what happened.....the primer went off on the loaded case in my hand and the shell fragmented sending brass fragments and pcs of plastic from the hand primer in all directions. Blood everywhere and I still have not found all the pcs of brass to account for the enti