Print Thread
Looking for recommendations on a crossbow #5820207 07/06/15 11:00 PM
L
LovinLakeLife Online Content OP
Pro Tracker
OP Online Content
Pro Tracker
L
Now that I know I can deer hunt with a crossbow, asked TPAW, I am looking for recommendations on a decent, entry level crossbow under $500
I can't use a compound bow due to surgery, can't draw and hold it, so I am going to go with a crossbow
Can y'all recommend a decent crossbow under $500?

Re: Looking for recommendations on a crossbow [Re: LovinLakeLife] #5820469 07/07/15 01:16 AM
M
Microsktr Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
M
I've been hunting all sorts of game (deer, hogs, etc.) with crossbows since they became legal in Texas. I am a disabled veteran, and like you, I had to switch to shooting a crossbow during archery season because I couldn't hold back my Mathews compound bow anymore (due to arthritis). Although there are several crossbows out on the market today under $500, you have to ask yourself a couple of questions first:

1. Comfort: How balanced does the crossbow feel to me when I hold it? Am I able to set the crossbow with the rope pulley provided, or do I need a hand crank winch to set it?
2. Parts: How easily can I get replacement parts (ex: strings) if needed? Can I get the recommended bolts?
3. Repair: Will a local bow shop be able to provide repairs/service on the crossbow if something happens?
4. Accuracy: I highly recommend you do not buy any crossbow unless you get a chance to test shoot it a couple of times. Some models look good in the shop, but don't feel so good when you actually shoot them.