Yes? No? Why? Thanks.

Re: Christensen Rifles? [Re: westexhunt] #6482943 10/06/16 02:03 AM
T
Theringworm Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
T
Maybe ChadTRG42 will chyme in since that's where I got my info, but he mentioned he has seen several customers with carbon fiber wrapped barrels (not just Christensen, but mainly them) whom while he was working up loads had a heck of a time getting consistent groups. They would string shots all over the place no matter the load.

I have zero experience with them. A friend on mine has one but has never shot it, lol. Hopefully others will reply who actually have more experience with them.

Re: Christensen Rifles? [Re: westexhunt] #6483045 10/06/16 03:01 AM
westexhunt Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
I like the concept, the action is well done, weight is nice, good triggers. Don't like the stock finish, but I never choose form over function (almost never). I just don't want to buy a $2000 rifle that will not shoot. I'm looking at a ridgeline in 300win for hunting out of state (elk and mule deer) and want to be confident for longer ranges. I want a long range rifle I can be confident in and carry all day.

Last edited by westexhunt; 10/06/16 03:02 AM.
Re: Christensen Rifles? [Re: westexhunt] #6483077 10/06/16 03:19 AM
M
Mike Honcho Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
M
Had a Christensen 25-06 about 7-8 yrs ago. For the money I think they are a POS. I must have tried 6-8 powders and nearly ever gr bullet by sierra, Berger, hornady, and even Jlk. Seated at multiple lengths. It NEVER shot better than an inch and mainly 1.25" @ 100 yds. A off the rack savage axis runs circles around it accuracy wise. Is it cool, sure. Cool to throw the name out there, sure if your into that. IMO all form no function. You could build 2 savages that shoot 1/2" at 100 yds for what you'll pay for a Christensen. Now Proof research barrels are the real deal. I'd say every bit as accurate as bartlein and krieger. Just my .02