Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Gunsmith question?? #6421502 08/23/16 11:59 PM
Fishing Fester Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
I hear there is a new tax yall have to pay each yr now. Something like $2200. Also something about any time u alter a rifle that in some way improves accuracy, it is considered manufacturing. Is this all true? How does this affect small mom and pop gunsmith services?

Re: Gunsmith question?? [Re: Fishing Fester] #6421631 08/24/16 01:46 AM
H
HorizonFirearms Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
H
That is what the last executive order was about its called the ITAR fee. We as a company have been paying it for years as a 07 manufacture so for us it does nothing different from a fees perspective. Not sure how it will affect the guys with 01"gunsmith licenses" will probably force them do pay the 2250 per year as well. We actually met with our lawyer today to talk about how it affects suppliers specifically as that is un-clear. I am no expert on this just yet that is why we pay lawyers to interpret this stuff. For example we manufacture our stocks at corporate in Shiner, Texas. That is not where our firearms business is, some interpretation is saying that they may too have to pay the itar as a manufacture of gun parts, that could potentially be the case for barrel manufactures as well, don't quote me on that but that is what we are currently looking into for our business as the answer is a little muddy. Where it will affect most gunsmiths from the way we read it is that if you are a gunsmith and you put a barrel on a rifle or rebarrel a rifle that would be "Manufacturing activity" that means that you will have to pay the $2250 ITAR tax per year and register. What is the most tricky and concerning about the "Manufacturing" definition changing is once a gun builder "manufactures" over 49 guns there is an 11% additional FET tax paid on the sale. Currently gunsmith/ rebarrels are not subject to that tax. However, what we are trying