Page 1 of 2 1 2
next years build #6026815 11/13/15 04:32 AM
E
eddie4529 Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
E
Planning on building a 6.5creedmoor bolt action setup next year any ideas on rifle manufacturers to look at rifle budget 1000 optics will have a separate budget

Re: next years build [Re: eddie4529] #6026856 11/13/15 05:21 AM
K
Korean Redneck Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
K
I hate to be the one who says it but if by "built" u mean something semi custom with like an aftermarket barrel, then your budget just not make it as far as you think. I'm a beginner to longer distance shooting with a semi custom bolt rifle and here's what I concluded

Scenario 1: tikka
It will get u best rifle set up by merely switching out the barrel. At best I would think if u find even a used tikka at $500 then you're doing really well. FYI a bunch of folks on this forum like tikka as build base because it has a great factory trigger and action. After that even the most budget friendly barrel is about $200, something like a Shilen, or more for higher quality barrels. If u find a gunsmith to chamber and install a barrel for $250 then I think you're doing pretty well. Now u have a great action with a good barrel and a subpar factory stock. Not to mention taxes and shipping and any other hidden fees.

Scenario 2: savage
Get u the cheapest savage u can find with an accutrigger, probably even around $400 if u look hard enough. A decent stock with a full aluminum bed for about $200. Shilen sells a pre-chambered and threaded barrel for savages for $400. A savage barrel switch is very easy for a gunsmith. U may even be able to sweet talk someone on this forum to do it for u. This option gives u a better stock but not as good of an action as compared to option 1.

IMHO don't even go down the Remington 700 path if your serious about a $1k budget.