Forums46
Topics537,975
Posts9,731,270
Members87,052
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Killer Bees Grapevine Corps land [Re: BlackSnake] #7287842 09/16/18 01:28 AM
Greg Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
Was fishing with a buddy in a jon boat on his place North of Bonham when we heard a loud hum. Started getting louder and louder and then they appeared. HUGE swarm about the size of a house... must have been millions. Some of them were falling out of the sky and landing on the water (and us) as they moved by overhead. We talked about jumping out and flipping the boat over, but they were moving on pretty good. It was a real sight to see.

Re: Killer Bees Grapevine Corps land [Re: BlackSnake] #7287852 09/16/18 01:40 AM
H
huntwest Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
H
Originally Posted By: BlackSnake
Huntwest, I'll take your word for it. I'm no expert by no means. It's the only explanation I could come up with

Also anytime you might accidentally upset a hive they will usually attack. African or not.
Wild bees are more protective of their hives than domestic.
Just be careful as there are plenty of wild hives in Texas. Both European bees and Africanized.
I have two hives of Africanized bees that are great producers but I have to wear a full bee suit to work with them.
Africans also really like to hive in ground and under storage sheds. European bees will usually hive high up in a tree and never underground.
The Africans make honey really fast, they also will rob honey from friendly European bees.

Also a swarm of bees or a huge amount flying together are harmless even Africans. They only get mean and attack when defending a hive.

Last edited by huntwest; 09/16/18 01:50 AM.
Re: Killer Bees Grapevine Corps land [Re: HWY_MAN] #7287867 09/16/18 01:54 AM
H
huntwest Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
H
Originally Posted By: HWY_MAN