Deer won't eat my protein... #7249037 08/08/18 01:09 PM
D
DocHorton Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
D
Hey Guys,

I've been attempting to feed protein for almost 2 years and my deer just don't eat much of it at all...only about 150-200 lbs all summer. I've tried everything I know....put in corn with it, tried a different protein, etc. It's a gravity feeder and I have pictures of deer eating out of it, but they just don't consume much. The only thing is the protein may be old at this point, I bought 10 bags thinking that would last a couple months back in the winter and it has been mostly sitting in a container since then, but even when it was new they consume very little. I have a pretty healthy deer population for my small area, I routinely see 10-12 deer on my place every time I go. I have a lot of water on my place, the feeder is in a good traveled area for the deer. Closest corn feeder is about 150-200 yards away. They hit my corn every day.

Any thoughts? I'd really like to get them on protein pretty heavily. Should I dump it all and try a different protein again?

This is what I'm feeding, it's the only thing my local feed store has...

https://www.sportsmanschoicefeeds.com/product/record-rack-deer-breeder-formula

I'm looking for any other ideas...I just don't understand why they won't eat it.

Re: Deer won't eat my protein... [Re: DocHorton] #7249051 08/08/18 01:18 PM
S
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi
Obie Juan Kenobi
S
Feed does get old and starts to smell old. What style/brand feeder are you using? How much rain have you had this spring and summer? Did you fill the feeder to the top when starting to feed?