Print Thread
Friend's parents asked me to kill their pigs #7220264 07/10/18 05:03 AM
K
Kiteman Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
K
I am north of Dallas and my friend's parents have a lot of land and have a huge hog problem. They also have deer, turkey, dove, and duck, but they only will allow me to shoot the hogs...and that sucks.

I have no experience with hog hunting. I have a 12 gauge that can handle a 3.5" shell and I know I probably need to put out corn and some kind of protective blind. But that's about it. I also know hogs can have brucellosis, but I don't know how big of a concern that is?

In general I don't know what the heck I am doing. I can choose NOT to do any of this all of course, but I would like to as I enjoy hunting, although all of my hunting experience is small game and birds. Thanks for any advice.

Last edited by Kiteman; 07/10/18 05:04 AM.
Re: Friend's parents asked me to kill their pigs [Re: Kiteman] #7220265 07/10/18 05:10 AM
T
Txduckman Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
T
How much land and how far is it from you? What county? Do they have planted fields like wheat or it is just pasture such as grass, weeds and trees?

You will need a rifle eventually and plenty of affordable options but depending on setup a shotgun from a popup can work.

Re: Friend's parents asked me to kill their pigs [Re: Txduckman] #7220277 07/10/18 06:31 AM
P
pigplinker Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
P
Originally Posted By: Txduckman
How much land and how far is it from you? What county? Do they have planted fields like wheat or it is just pasture such as grass, weeds and trees?

You will need a rifle eventually and plenty of affordable options but depending on setup a shotgun from a popup can work.

x2