Page 1 of 2 1 2
HELP...Lab wont put a bird in her mouth. #7212018 06/29/18 11:22 PM
B
batesdc Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
B
I have a 11 month old Black Lab. She loves the water and fetch. She will fetch anything I throw, Ball, Bumper, Duck looking bumper and even the cabelas pheasant feather covered training bumper BUT she will not put a dead bird in her mouth. How can I fix this? Tricks?

Thanks
Batesdc

Re: HELP...Lab wont put a bird in her mouth. [Re: batesdc] #7212050 06/29/18 11:50 PM
B
bobcat1 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
B
I'd say force fetch but I am no pro.

Bobby Barnett

Re: HELP...Lab wont put a bird in her mouth. [Re: batesdc] #7212077 06/30/18 12:29 AM
Greg Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
First off, don’t panic. I had the same issue with a dog that turned out to be incredible. I told the guys where I took her to get trained that she was bumper crazy but spits the real deal. He smiled, grabbed a duck, and got her all fired up about it. Within 5 min he had her bringing it back to him. I didn’t think it was possible.

In my opinion FF is the way to go, and something I’ve come to understand over time. At first I fought the idea, but learned it will pay big dividends later...especially if you plan to get serious about the game. That said, it can be kinda tough to do yourself and will put some stress on the dog and you too. I would recommend having another person who has it down do it for you. Just like anything else, it’s a step by step process and you need to know what to look for so you don’t screw up a dog. Some dogs like my Molly figured the game out real quick... others take a bit longer. Either way... if your dog is nuts about retrieving it will all be okay up

Re: HELP...Lab wont put a bird in her mouth. [Re: batesdc] #7212117 06/30/18 01:59 AM
B
BradyBuck Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
B