Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Birddog4570, Robert Scharfschwerdt, Littlebillyboy, CircleBOutfitters, andy52887
64038 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 89027
stxranchman 53348
bill oxner 48387
RKHarm24 44577
rifleman 44396
BOBO the Clown 43836
BMD 40968
SnakeWrangler 37917
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35334
facebook
Forum Stats
64038 Members
45 Forums
421228 Topics
6102514 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#7199444 - 06/16/18 12:54 PM Is 20 moa mount really necessary?
Blackout Bill Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 03/05/15
Posts: 278
Loc: Flower Mound
I have an AR10 build in .308, 20Ē barrel, and have finally saved enough cash for a nightforce scope. Specifically the SHV 4-14x50 FFP with MOA reticle. With the wide range in adjustments on this killer optic, and the fact that I more than likely wonít shoot past 6-700 yds anyway, do I need anything like 20 moa mount? I like doing things once when possible and would appreciate some input. Yes, this has probably been asked many times but not seeing anything recent.

Thanks,

Billy.

Top
#7199456 - 06/16/18 01:15 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
dee Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 04/10/10
Posts: 5487
Loc: Red River way
Depends on scope travel and load data.
_________________________
"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt

Top
#7199467 - 06/16/18 01:33 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
wp75169 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 10/11/09
Posts: 4791
Loc: Wills Point
I canít imagine limiting the distance a rifle will shoot by the mount the optics sit on. If youíll go 6-700 then youíll go all the way eventually. The first time I shot past 300 I rang the 1000 yard gong 20 plus times that day.

Top
#7199470 - 06/16/18 01:36 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
QuitShootinYoungBucks Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 9198
Loc: Lubbock, TX
If you know for a fact you arenít going past 700-800, you will never need that rail. To get to 1000 yards with a 178 started at 2550 youíll only need 38.3 MOA. How much adjustment does the SHV have?
_________________________


https://web.archive.org/web/20170223065011/http:/www.rrdvegas.com/silencer-cleaning.html

Top
#7199569 - 06/16/18 03:35 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
Grizz Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 02/28/08
Posts: 7465
Loc: Granbury, TX
If you're looking to shoot at 600-700, you'll probably end up going farther. It wouldn't hurt anything to get the rail. I don't know the ballistics for your .308 round, but I had to get one for my 6.5 Creedmoor to reach 1,000. I was able to dial to 950 but I didn't have enough left to get to 1,000 so I had to hold over until I got the 20 MOA rail.
_________________________

Top
#7199571 - 06/16/18 03:36 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
Blackout Bill Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 03/05/15
Posts: 278
Loc: Flower Mound
Specs say 90 minutes. Assuming thatís 45 on either side of zero?

Top
#7199584 - 06/16/18 03:48 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
Cleric Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 03/11/12
Posts: 3441
Originally Posted By: Blackout Bill
Specs say 90 minutes. Assuming thatís 45 on either side of zero?


Yes but your zero is rarely perfectly in the middle. I would assume 40moa of adjustment.

Put your bullet and expected velocity into a calc and see what the drop as it a variety of distances. Also remember depending on your reticle you can hold some more. I used to have a 24in 308 that I ran out to 1200 I bottomed out on adjustments so just used holds on the last little bit

Top
#7199603 - 06/16/18 04:11 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
Blackout Bill Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 03/05/15
Posts: 278
Loc: Flower Mound
All responses are appreciated. And make sense. I have some load data at home and will check. I handload so finding the right recipe will get done at some point. The hold over is 30 minutes on the reticle.

Top
#7199680 - 06/16/18 05:44 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
patriot07 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 2537
Loc: Royse City, TX
No

I've shot out to 1,100 on my 6.5 CM with a 0 MOA base and never even got to 11 mils (slightly less than 40 MOA). And you have extra hold on the reticle too.

Lots of folks say, "you'll go farther". It's not like there are 1,200+ yard ranges all over the place. I don't even know where one is within reasonable driving distance of my house. Besides, if you want to go far enough to use more elevation than that, it likely won't be on a 308 gas gun anyway.

Top
#7199736 - 06/16/18 06:48 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: patriot07]
garyrapp55 Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 12/26/11
Posts: 945
Loc: Ft. Worth
Originally Posted By: patriot07
you have extra hold on the reticle too.
It's not like there are 1,200+ yard ranges all over the place. Besides, if you want to go far enough to use more elevation than that, it likely won't be on a 308 gas gun anyway.

what I was thinking too.

Top
#7199870 - 06/16/18 09:41 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 13513
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Originally Posted By: Blackout Bill
Specs say 90 minutes. Assuming thatís 45 on either side of zero?


Exactly. So, let's calculate it. If your scope has 90 MOA total travel, a 0 moa base would put you in the middle with 45 up and 45 down. 45 moa available elevation on a 308 would easily get you to 900+, which is probably longer than you can shoot with that anyway.

If you added a 20 moa base, it would allow 65 moa total up (45 + 20) and allow 25 moa down, which is fine. But adding a 20 moa rail on top of the existing rail on the AR 10 would increase your height, which you would need lower rings. For your use, I would go with no rail, and get a set of high rings.
_________________________

Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#7199986 - 06/17/18 05:39 AM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
fr3db3ar Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/08/15
Posts: 404
Loc: Holland, MI
It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.

Top
#7200053 - 06/17/18 08:35 AM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: fr3db3ar]
patriot07 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 2537
Loc: Royse City, TX
Originally Posted By: fr3db3ar
It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.
Not when it cost you in terms of ring height and ergonomics. JMHO

Top
#7200075 - 06/17/18 09:03 AM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: patriot07]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 26052
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: patriot07
Originally Posted By: fr3db3ar
It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.
Not when it cost you in terms of ring height and ergonomics. JMHO


It can also save someone over a thousand dollars.

My SS 5-20X pulled duty on bolt action rifles for years, in a set of Badger Ordnance rings, and every bolt action has a 20 MOA pic rail. Installing the scope and rings on my AR-10 the scope was too low, of course. So I added a 20 MOA rail to the AR-10, and now the AR-10 doesn't have its' scope, same as my bolt actions don't have their own scope.

OP, if you plan on buying an additional rifle, you can let this scope work on two rifles, as long as you install the scope in medium rings, and install a 20 MOA pic rail on each rifle. I invertoried last week. I have 9 rifles I am using, and 3 scopes. Looks like it is time to buy myself another scope, but I will not be buying 6 scopes.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#7210124 - 06/27/18 02:55 PM Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill]
Ben SportOptics Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 38
Loc: Louisiana
Going with a 20 MOA mount is a clean light option compared to a 20 moa rail. It is not going to hurt you with that scope.
_________________________

Top



© 2004-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide