Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Bms2, Just70, OhanaMan, Justwantahunt, trey.smith
64178 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 89663
stxranchman 53469
bill oxner 49117
RKHarm24 44577
rifleman 44404
BOBO the Clown 43995
BMD 40992
SnakeWrangler 38961
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35359
facebook
Forum Stats
64178 Members
45 Forums
420403 Topics
6115846 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#7179300 - 05/24/18 09:55 PM Help...thermal has no picture!
DocHorton Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/06/10
Posts: 5336
Loc: DFW
I have an IR Hunter Mark2....scope turns on and shows the start up screen but the picture has no image. Itís just solid gray. It worked the last time I used it a month or so ago. Tried powering off and on and still nothing. Battery is fully charged and I can scan through the menus but there is no thermal image.

Any thoughts? Did my scope take a dump...?

This is gonna kill my hog hunt tonight. frown

Top
#7179346 - 05/24/18 10:34 PM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
SapperTitan Offline
Taking Requests

Registered: 11/17/10
Posts: 26686
Loc: Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Lenís cap isnít still on it correct? Dumb question but never know.

Other then that no idea
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
I plowed mules.
Originally Posted By: Roll-Tide
I did build a cabin. Aka ďthe brokeback shackĒ.


Top
#7179373 - 05/24/18 11:06 PM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
DocHorton Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/06/10
Posts: 5336
Loc: DFW
Lens cap is off. Tried Nucíing it several times. Still no luck....frustrating.

Top
#7179413 - 05/25/18 02:09 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
Mountain Lion Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 03/07/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Montague County / San Antonio
Well as they say...you get what you pay for! :p
_________________________
ML

Top
#7179414 - 05/25/18 02:33 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
Double Naught Spy Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 05/18/11
Posts: 5805
Loc: Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
When you say the battery is charged up, what do you mean?

Try cr123s.
_________________________
Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange

Top
#7179522 - 05/25/18 07:27 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
dfwroadkill Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 09/15/09
Posts: 3390
Loc: D/FW, TX
Run your brightness and contrast up and down. Could have gotten messed with somehow. Check all your setting for being where they are normally. Sounds dumb, but it happens.

Top
#7179707 - 05/25/18 10:08 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
DocHorton Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/06/10
Posts: 5336
Loc: DFW
Checked all the settings and ran the brightness and contrast up and down. Turned it off and on multiple times and did it again. Still nothing. Iíve had the scope for a few years and have used it a lot, but itís never been dropped or anything. I used it a month ago, put it back in the safe and then took it out, loaded in the gun case and drove to my land.

Iím using one of the UNV battery packs...battery is fully charged and Iíve been using the rechargeable battery for a while.

I donít think getting power is the issue...it seems like the thermal sensor isnít working.

Top
#7179709 - 05/25/18 10:11 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
CharlieCTx Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 05/27/13
Posts: 1844
Loc: Flower Mound, TX
Have an external video/recorder output you can try? If you don't get a picture internal or external, not looking good...
_________________________
Charlie

M&P-10 + AAC Cyclone
Kel-Tec RFB + Griffin Sportsman Ultra Light 300
Pulsar Apex XQ-50

Top
#7179754 - 05/25/18 10:42 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
MDMORROW Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/10/11
Posts: 2974
Loc: McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
Gonna have to send that bad boy in Iím afraid.
_________________________

Night Vision / Thermal / Shooting Tripods / Accessories
www.nightvisionoutfitters.com
sales@nightvisionoutfitters.com

Top
#7179806 - 05/25/18 11:30 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
Double Naught Spy Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 05/18/11
Posts: 5805
Loc: Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Originally Posted By: DocHorton

Iím using one of the UNV battery packs...battery is fully charged and Iíve been using the rechargeable battery for a while.

I donít think getting power is the issue...it seems like the thermal sensor isnít working.


I understand and I also doubt it is an external power issue, but still, the issue isn't ruled out, either. So, take off the external battery and check with CR123s before you take the time and expense of sending in the unit...in case there is actually a problem with the external battery or connections. When thermal cameras don't get quite enough power, they can do some wonky image things. Checking with fresh CR123s will only take a few minutes and right now you have the free time to do that, versus how much time it will take you to box it up and send it in AFTER you call Trijicon who isn't open right now and likely won't be open on Monday.
_________________________
Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange

Top
#7179815 - 05/25/18 11:37 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: Mountain Lion]
SapperTitan Offline
Taking Requests

Registered: 11/17/10
Posts: 26686
Loc: Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Originally Posted By: Mountain Lion
Well as they say...you get what you pay for! :p

smh
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
I plowed mules.
Originally Posted By: Roll-Tide
I did build a cabin. Aka ďthe brokeback shackĒ.


Top
#7179821 - 05/25/18 11:48 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: Mountain Lion]
Mountain Lion Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 03/07/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Montague County / San Antonio
Originally Posted By: Mountain Lion
Well as they say...you get what you pay for! :p



(obviously joking)
_________________________
ML

Top
#7179858 - 05/25/18 12:21 PM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
DocHorton Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/06/10
Posts: 5336
Loc: DFW
DNS, Iíll try that when I get back home. I donít have the battery cover with me right now.

Top
#7180407 - 05/25/18 11:22 PM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
DocHorton Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/06/10
Posts: 5336
Loc: DFW
Well, I tried new batteries and still no luck. Looks like Iíll be calling Trijicon on Tuesday.

Top
#7180430 - 05/26/18 12:07 AM Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton]
2Beez Offline
Chihuahua

Registered: 07/17/15
Posts: 11665
Loc: Lake Texoma, TX
Damn. Hate to hear that Doc.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide