Page 1 of 2 1 2
Quantity vs Quality: The Common Gun Collector Virus #7163598 05/08/18 11:36 AM
C
Crews Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
C
Deep thoughts this morning: I work in the oilfield and live in the best state in the world, so naturally I find myself in conversations about guns on a pretty regular basis. Anything from shotguns to pistols to precision rifle, and anything in between. I would have to say that a VAST majority of the folks I talk to have a QUANTITY focus, with little regard to QUALITY. Sure, there are guys with lots of money that buy quality guns, but the primary focus is still on quantity. It's like success is defined by how many guns you can accrue, and happiness is derived from sitting around the house finger-banging them.

Why do so many folks get bit by the Gun Collector Virus? How many people do you know that have a gun safe full of mediocre firearms that they will never become proficient with?

If you find yourself saying "that's me" to the description above, I'd like to advocate for a change in your focus. Pick one gun from each genre that gets the job done. If you've got 2 or 3 mediocre ones, sell them all and get one really nice one. Then get good at it. Let proficiency define success for you.

Re: Quantity vs Quality: The Common Gun Collector Virus [Re: Crews] #7163620 05/08/18 12:09 PM
T
Texas Dan Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
T