Page 1 of 2 1 2
FL resize doesnt bump the shoulder? #7131522 04/03/18 07:44 PM
H
huck18 Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
H
I'm new to reloading (have only reloaded a few hundred rounds of plinking ammo for an AR). I'm using a Hornady single stage press and Hornady custom full length dies.

I'm in the process of trying to find a load for my 6.5 creedmoor (143 ELD-X and once fired Hornady brass). My issue is after I did a full length resize of my once fired brass the shoulder did not bump back at all. Using a Hornady head space gauge the brass measures the same length after resizing as it did before the resizing. This is with the die all the way down flush with the shell holder and slightly backed off a half turn as well. Is this normal? Does it take more than one use for the brass to grow enough to need to bump the shoulder? The resized brass seems to chamber and eject with no issues. Also do I need to trim the brass after one use or can I get a few uses before trimming?

I've read that you want to bump the shoulder back 0.002, but with my die this seems impossible.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: FL resize doesnt bump the shoulder? [Re: huck18] #7131533 04/03/18 07:53 PM
R
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
R
Probably error in die set up.

You should put shell holder in ram and raise to the highest point, then screw die in till contacts shell houlder, then lower ram and screw the die in just a little more then set lock ring. If you screwed it in till it touched the shell houlder then backed the die out a little you are not full length sizing.

It's hell eatin em live
Re: FL resize doesnt bump the shoulder? [Re: redchevy] #7131549 04/03/18 08:04 PM
kmon11 Offline
junior
junior
Originally Posted By: redchevy