Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
6.5Pete, RANGERRONG, jmusil, the buck shooter, txmudd
63299 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 85122
stxranchman 52214
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44341
bill oxner 43828
BOBO the Clown 43129
BMD 40667
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35067
SnakeWrangler 32693
facebook
Forum Stats
63299 Members
45 Forums
446666 Topics
6155987 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#7062977 - 02/02/18 09:28 AM Breaking in a new barrel??
DLALLDER Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 3218
Loc: Pittsburg, Texas
Okay, I now have all the components to start reloading. What is your method to break in the barrel? How many rds total, how frequent do you clean? Do you load lower velocity or go to the upper end of the cartridge? First time to break in a barrel, normally I don't buy new guns but my boss said she wanted a certain rifle and could not find a used one. In case it matters it is a Tikka, 25-06 and will be loading 115 Nosler Ballistic Tips. Powder, I am not sure about yet. Thanks Daniel
_________________________






Top
#7062988 - 02/02/18 09:34 AM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 23316
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
7 pages worth, very recently.

http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/7046890/1

Clean, put 20 foulers down it, and go about load development.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#7063005 - 02/02/18 09:45 AM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
Dennis in Ft Worth Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 06/07/06
Posts: 420
Daniel-
You're gonna get lots of differing opinions on this. Here's mine. Load it up and just shoot it! Folks get too wound up about "round count" nowadays. Or, try this: shoot your first ever shots and save that target; after a few hundred rounds, shoot another target and compare group size.

My 25/06 likes anything 100 - 120 grains over IMR 4350. The rifle is a sporterized Springfield, built in the early '60s. Several thousand rounds and a ton of venison later, it'll still shoot "MOA" if I haven't had too much coffee.
Dennis
_________________________
It's a RUGER, for cryin' out loud; "What's the round count?" or "How many rounds down the tube?" are irrelevant!

Top
#7063013 - 02/02/18 09:51 AM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
ETXFIREMAN 1 Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 01/20/10
Posts: 3569
Loc: Canton, Tx
Ive never broke a barrel in....just go out and shoot it!!!! My dads Tikka 25-06 is shooting 117 SGK's over 49.5gr H4350
_________________________
Originally Posted By: BMD
No doubt about the AR crap, just damn shame hunters don't have self control and knowledge



Top
#7063026 - 02/02/18 10:01 AM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
DLALLDER Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 3218
Loc: Pittsburg, Texas
Ok, Thanks Guys for the information. Will get the scope mounted and bore sighted today. I should know something tomorrow after some range time. Better yet, my boss will know something!!!!
_________________________






Top
#7063030 - 02/02/18 10:03 AM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
Buzzsaw Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 06/29/11
Posts: 11601
Loc: Frisco, Texas
H4831 is your friend too.
_________________________
"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait



Top
#7063043 - 02/02/18 10:09 AM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
DLALLDER Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 3218
Loc: Pittsburg, Texas
Great!! I have some of both. H4831 and H4350
_________________________






Top
#7063058 - 02/02/18 10:19 AM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: Buzzsaw]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 23316
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: Buzzsaw
H4831 is your friend too.


What I would go to. It'll probably fill the case better.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#7063230 - 02/02/18 12:17 PM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: FiremanJG]
Bbear Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 11/24/13
Posts: 830
Loc: West Texas
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
7 pages worth, very recently.

http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/7046890/1

Clean, put 20 foulers down it, and go about load development.


^^^^
This, for a factory barrel. For an after-market barrel, just clean it and go shoot.
_________________________
[IMG][/IMG]

Pay it forward - Kids are the future.

Rifles are similar to boats and young women...there's no end to how much money you can pour into them without making them any more useful.

Top
#7063476 - 02/02/18 02:59 PM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: Bbear]
snarkscarbine Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/01/17
Posts: 183
Loc: DFW
Originally Posted By: Bbear
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
7 pages worth, very recently.

http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/7046890/1

Clean, put 20 foulers down it, and go about load development.


^^^^
This, for a factory barrel. For an after-market barrel, just clean it and go shoot.


Bingo. There's no magic behind barrel break-in; You can see it with a borescope. If your barrel is made properly and the builder installed it properly, break-in won't be necessary. The goal of a break-in is to smooth out machining marks from making the barrel and from chambering and cutting the throat, which is why people recommend the "shoot/clean/shoot/clean/shoot/clean"-type of procedure. The idea is to keep the fouling to a minimum so that each of the first handful of shots is lapping the machine marks out. If the barrel company lapped the barrel properly it'll already be smooth. Same with the smith installing the barrel. If they know what they're doing, the throat will be chatter/marks/etc-free.

Generally speaking, factory rifle barrels will show more signs of needing it, and custom barrels won't. You aren't going to hurt anything by not doing it, though.


Edited by snarkscarbine (02/02/18 03:00 PM)

Top
#7063641 - 02/02/18 05:26 PM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
RiverRider Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 7678
Loc: Wise Co.
I've had new rifles that did not really start to shoot well until after they'd seen 50 or 60 rounds---and I'm not talking about just getting them sufficiently fouled...but I'm not talking about premium barrels, either.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Ronald Reagan
It's not that liberals are not smart, it's just that so much of what they know isn't so.

Top
#7063762 - 02/02/18 06:51 PM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
DLALLDER Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 3218
Loc: Pittsburg, Texas
The barrel I am asking about is a Tikka Forest in 25-06. First new Tikka I have ever bought. Plan to give is a try tomorrow.
_________________________






Top
#7063856 - 02/02/18 08:35 PM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
Bbear Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 11/24/13
Posts: 830
Loc: West Texas
Just clean it and go shoot it.
_________________________
[IMG][/IMG]

Pay it forward - Kids are the future.

Rifles are similar to boats and young women...there's no end to how much money you can pour into them without making them any more useful.

Top
#7063979 - 02/02/18 11:30 PM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: FiremanJG]
Grizz Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 02/28/08
Posts: 6925
Loc: Granbury, TX
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
7 pages worth, very recently.

http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/7046890/1

Clean, put 20 foulers down it, and go about load development.


This is pretty much exactly what I did with my newest rifle. With the second bullet/powder combination I got this group with no structured barrel break-in. Not perfect but I'm good with it.

_________________________

Top
#7064069 - 02/03/18 07:27 AM Re: Breaking in a new barrel?? [Re: DLALLDER]
Rustler Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 03/01/07
Posts: 3651
Loc: Carrollton/ Young, Blanco coun...
I'd at least run a few patches with whatever solvent you like through it before firing it just to make sure the bore isn't gunky from the factory. Then patch dry.

I follow my own break in procedure with new rifles, not interested in e arguments with internet rifle experts.

Just don't get carried away shooting a new rifle & over heat the barrel.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide