Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Boudin recipe #7036170 01/12/18 11:51 PM
6InARowMakeItGo Offline OP
THF Celebrity
OP Offline
THF Celebrity
Ive been making my own smoked sausage for a few years and I love it, I want to try my hand at boudin, do any of yall make your own boudin?

If anyone has a good boudin recipe they would share, thats be awesome,

My MIL brought me some from Louisiana and its the best Ive ever had, it had jalapeo and cheese in it and the taste was great!

🍻
Re: Boudin recipe [Re: 6InARowMakeItGo] #7036383 01/13/18 03:24 AM
D
djs303 Offline
Tracker
Tracker
D
Here is a recipe that I use:

1 1/2 pounds meat (duck, venison, beef, pork, whatever)
1/2 pounds liver (duck, chicken, pork, venison liver, etc)
1/2 pound pork fat
1 large onion, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
2 poblano or green bell peppers, chopped
1 bay leaf
6 garlic cloves, chopped
4 tablespoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon Instacure No. 1 (optional)
3 to 5 tablespoons Cajun seasoning
2 cups cooked white rice (long-grain is best)
1 cup parsley, chopped
1 cup green onions, chopped
Hog casings
Chop the meats, liver and fat into chunks of about 1 inch across; you will grind them later, so they need to be able to fit in the grinder. Mix the meats with the onion, celery, poblano peppers and garlic, then the salt, curing salt (if using) and the Cajun seasonings or the spice mix you made from this recipe. Put it all in a lidded container and let it sit in the fridge at least an hour, and up to a day.
Put the contents of the container into a large pot and pour in enough water to cover everything by an inch or two. Bring to a simmer and cook gently until everything is tender, at least 90 minutes and up to 4 hours. Strain off the cooking liquid (youll need it later) and spread the meat, fat and veggies out on a sheet pan to cool.
When everything is cool enough to handle, grind it through the coarse die on your grinder. You can also hand chop everything.