Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Beam, CarnivorouZ, P-LAG LLC, Hugh TN, Rigdonkey
63890 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 88503
stxranchman 53144
bill oxner 47833
RKHarm24 44577
rifleman 44388
BOBO the Clown 43767
BMD 40950
Big Orn 37484
SnakeWrangler 37231
txshntr 35255
facebook
Forum Stats
63890 Members
45 Forums
418983 Topics
6072443 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#7029674 - 01/08/18 11:41 AM Question about action screws
Big A Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/19/10
Posts: 3124
Loc: DFW
I have a tikka ctr that I have had the action screw come loose before.

I put this into a Mcmillan Stock torqued to about 40lbs and they came lose over the weekend hunting do I need to try a little loctite to help or more torque.


Stock is new


Edited by Big A (01/08/18 04:08 PM)
_________________________

Originally Posted By: NTX_Hunter
"The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun, is a good guy with a gun"

Top
#7029706 - 01/08/18 12:09 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
VAFish Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/09/15
Posts: 327
Loc: Fairfax, VA
40 ft lb or inch pounds?

I hope inch pounds.

But found this thread that says 51-51 in lb.

http://www.tikkashooters.com/public_html/gunsmithing/tightening-the-action-screws-on-a-t3/
_________________________
"If your plan is for one year, plant rice.
If your plan is for ten years, plant trees.
If your plan is for one hundred years, educate children."
-- Confucius

Top
#7029718 - 01/08/18 12:16 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 28180
Loc: Texas
I would be carefull adding more torque than what you have. Some other users have had issues when going over, maybe they will respond.

I would try some locktight before I really strapped on them, you don't want to overdo it. Torque on action screws depends a lot on what kind of bedding you have. Wood or synthetic no pillar bedded I think 30-40 is what most manufacturers recommend.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#7029724 - 01/08/18 12:20 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
patriot07 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 2488
Loc: Royse City, TX
Loctite is fine. Use the low-strength stuff (blue I think).

40 in-lbs should be fine. Since the CTR has actual metal as the bottom metal, more torque would probably be OK, but I wouldn't personally go past 50 in-lbs. And Loctite will do a better job keeping it secure than more torque will anyway. The Tikka action screws use a pretty big torx bit, so the low-strength Loctite would be totally fine.

I torqued my Tikka Varmint rifle to 55 in-lbs and found out that my action screws were preventing my bolt from closing because the plastic bottom metal had somewhat given way. The CTR shouldn't have that same issue, but there's no reason to go past 40 or 50 anyway IMHO.

Top
#7029828 - 01/08/18 01:12 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
onlysmith&wesson Offline
Tracker

Registered: 07/10/14
Posts: 876
Loc: Lewisville/ Red River County
How many rounds fired before you noticed they were lose?
Originally Posted By: Big A
I have a tikka ctr that I have had the action screw come lose before.

I put this into a Mcmillan Stock torqued to about 40lbs and they came lose over the weekend hunting do I need to try a little loctite to help or more torque.


Stock is new
_________________________
An unethical shot is one you take, that you know you shouldn't. [img]https://photos.google.com/photo/AF1QipNOjdik7ZGrcUk1_vvFdqt5zfe5P_JPk67lrkMm[/img]

Top
#7030025 - 01/08/18 03:23 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
Big A Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/19/10
Posts: 3124
Loc: DFW
3 rounds where fired from mounting stock to it being lose.
_________________________

Originally Posted By: NTX_Hunter
"The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun, is a good guy with a gun"

Top
#7030032 - 01/08/18 03:27 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 28180
Loc: Texas
3 rounds makes me wonder if something else is up. I would retorque and try again. If it comes loose again I would maybe consult the stock manufacturer. Did it do it before you replaced the stock?
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#7030077 - 01/08/18 03:54 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
Korean Redneck Offline


Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 2576
Loc: Houston
For what it's worth...I torque mybsfock savage action screws onto my hs stock to 65in-lbs. I've taken them on and off several times and it's never it's never come loose during use.

Top
#7030099 - 01/08/18 04:08 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: redchevy]
Big A Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/19/10
Posts: 3124
Loc: DFW



It has come loose before in the factory stock.
_________________________

Originally Posted By: NTX_Hunter
"The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun, is a good guy with a gun"

Top
#7030107 - 01/08/18 04:12 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
bronco71 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/04/07
Posts: 395
Loc: N. Dallas/Sulphur Bluff
blue or purple locktite 40-50 in-lbs

Top
#7030361 - 01/08/18 06:50 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
Big Fitz Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 12/06/09
Posts: 2456
Loc: Prosper, TX
Odd that it has happened on both the Tikka and McMillan stocks. Are these the original screws that came with the rifle? Without the stock, do the screws seem to thread properly into the action? I would suggest cleaning/degreasing the action and screw threads thoroughly and torque to specs with red BLUE loctite. Threadlockers will not cure properly with oil residue on the threads. If it comes loose again there is something else going on.


Edited by Big Fitz (01/09/18 09:57 AM)
_________________________
Originally Posted By: syncerus
I prefer to think of myself as a control enthusiast. wink

Top
#7030813 - 01/08/18 10:50 PM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
DocHorton Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/06/10
Posts: 5190
Loc: DFW
I do mine to 60-65 in-lbs, no Loctite, no problems yet.

Top
#7031092 - 01/09/18 08:35 AM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big Fitz]
garyrapp55 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/26/11
Posts: 850
Loc: Ft. Worth
Originally Posted By: Big Fitz
I would suggest cleaning/degreasing the action and screw threads thoroughly and torque to specs with red loctite.

Pretty sure red is semi-permanent and requires heat to remove bolt. Maybe you meant blue?

Top
#7031164 - 01/09/18 09:21 AM Re: Question about action screws [Re: Big A]
RiverRider Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 8222
Loc: Wise Co.
I'd use blue if any at all. Maybe even purple.
_________________________


I'm here to give and receive knowledge, not affirmation or adoration. If you don't like it, mierda dura. Intellectual honesty is not for fragile egos.

Top
#7031252 - 01/09/18 09:59 AM Re: Question about action screws [Re: garyrapp55]
Big Fitz Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 12/06/09
Posts: 2456
Loc: Prosper, TX
Originally Posted By: garyrapp55
Originally Posted By: Big Fitz
I would suggest cleaning/degreasing the action and screw threads thoroughly and torque to specs with red loctite.

Pretty sure red is semi-permanent and requires heat to remove bolt. Maybe you meant blue?


Yes, thanks for catching that! Red can be removed but heat is required. Use BLUE for this application.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: syncerus
I prefer to think of myself as a control enthusiast. wink

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide