Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Brookside, Gdstroud, THook59, Usmcgrit, king001
63074 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 84370
stxranchman 52093
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44320
BOBO the Clown 43043
bill oxner 42749
BMD 40628
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35004
SnakeWrangler 31674
facebook
Forum Stats
63074 Members
46 Forums
443503 Topics
6109994 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#7027377 - 01/06/18 02:11 PM Scope help
aggiegolfer09 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 12/21/14
Posts: 223
Loc: Dallas
I took my vortex pst off my 6.5 Creedmoor that had a 20 moa rail and put it on my 7-08 with a 0 moa rail. I went to sight it in and it was shooting really low. I ran out of travel on the turrets.

Any ideas?

Top
#7027411 - 01/06/18 02:46 PM Re: Scope help [Re: aggiegolfer09]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 22817
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
That scope, and many other designed to dial, are intended to be put on a 20 MOA base.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#7027461 - 01/06/18 04:12 PM Re: Scope help [Re: aggiegolfer09]
Eyesofahunter Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 528
Loc: Hill Country of Texas
Did you leave the rings in place? Do not know which one you have but a gen 2 5-25 has a total of 70 MOA adj in it 35 up and down from center you should find 0 regardless of rail I would think.

Top
#7027685 - 01/06/18 07:36 PM Re: Scope help [Re: aggiegolfer09]
patriot07 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 2061
Loc: Royse City, TX
Is this a Gen 1 or 2? If it's a 2, I would double-check that you have bottomed out the zero stop at the bottom of the travel. You're probably bottoming out against the zero stop when you're sighting it in.

Top
#7027708 - 01/06/18 07:59 PM Re: Scope help [Re: patriot07]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 22817
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Shooting low, and ran out of travel. I assumed he ran out of travel moving POI up.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#7027761 - 01/06/18 08:46 PM Re: Scope help [Re: aggiegolfer09]
aggiegolfer09 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 12/21/14
Posts: 223
Loc: Dallas
Gen 1

Top
#7028191 - 01/07/18 09:06 AM Re: Scope help [Re: aggiegolfer09]
Eyesofahunter Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 528
Loc: Hill Country of Texas
Gen 1 should have 65 MOA total elevation and you should get 0 with that amount. Did you change rings or just move scope and rings as one unit?

Top
#7028213 - 01/07/18 09:29 AM Re: Scope help [Re: aggiegolfer09]
aggiegolfer09 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 12/21/14
Posts: 223
Loc: Dallas
Just move scope and rings

I might have could have got it zeroed but I would have been out of elevation for dialing farther distances.

Top
#7028218 - 01/07/18 09:35 AM Re: Scope help [Re: aggiegolfer09]
Eyesofahunter Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 528
Loc: Hill Country of Texas
Did the front ring seat all the way into the rail slot? If not creates a reverse effect of your 20 MOA rail on the 6.5.

Top
#7028980 - 01/07/18 08:58 PM Re: Scope help [Re: Eyesofahunter]
patriot07 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 2061
Loc: Royse City, TX
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Shooting low, and ran out of travel. I assumed he ran out of travel moving POI up.
Yep, my bad.

That's still weird...

Originally Posted By: Eyesofahunter
Did the front ring seat all the way into the rail slot? If not creates a reverse effect of your 20 MOA rail on the 6.5.
Here's another good guess.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide