Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics537,013
Posts9,719,414
Members86,987
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Public Bacon Questions - Caddo Grasslands Ladonia Unit #6982007 12/04/17 03:31 PM
M
mp88 Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
M
I'm a new hunter and I've recently been scouting and hunting the Ladonia unit of Caddo Grasslands.

I see tons of hog sign and have even seen one spook off at a watering hole in the afternoon.

Anytime I see hog hunts in Texas it's almost all at night.

My question is have hogs in this area become almost exclusively nocturnal? I'm curious if I'm wasting my time in Caddo if the hogs only move outside shooting hours.

I use scent killer and am usually in my climber 30 minutes before first light, after I sit a few hours I'll go and try to stalk with the wind in my face. I've been a number of times with absolutely no luck.

As I said, I'm new to hunting so maybe its just impatience, but if not I'd like to know so I can adjust my stratagem.

Thanks,

Myles

Full Service Gunsmithing & Sales

www.ltgunsmith.com

Re: Public Bacon Questions - Caddo Grasslands Ladonia Unit [Re: mp88] #6982173 12/04/17 05:12 PM
D
der Teufel Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
D
I'm not familiar with Caddo Grasslands, but in general:

If there's any hunting pressure at all hogs will quickly leave the area or become nocturnal.
Hogs cannot tolerate warm temperatures. In summer they'll usually be nocturnal, avoiding direct sunlight.
In winter, if there's little or no hunting pressure, they may be out during the day and often around sunset/sunrise.

I'd say we're approaching the better hunting season for hogs (cooler temperatures) so you might keep at it, but I don't know what else is going on in that area.

I have two unwritten rules:
Re: Public Bacon Questions - Caddo Grasslands Ladonia Unit [Re: mp88] #6982208 12/04/17 05:37 PM
G
garyrapp55 Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
G