Thermal unit recommendations #6971278 11/24/17 05:24 PM
T
TXRobTRX Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
T
Thermal experts cool

I am completely new to the thermal/NV scene, and been doing a lot of research, but dont know the best route to go on my first thermal purchase

The primary uses I have for a thermal will be:
1. See game in the morning while sitting in the stand to start tracking movement.
2. Help with scouting while we drive around the lease
3. Game recovery

Distant number 4 is to use for nighttime hog hunts. We only do maybe 3 might hunts a year. Would be cool to see them coming in before turning on the lights.

The two leases I hunt on:
1. East texas piney woods with good trails, a number of open clear cuts, and two major pipelines
2. Hill country with wide open views - probably do more pig hunting here but only go 1 or 2 times a year (invite)

Not interested in video recording, sound, or any fancy features until I can get into the scene more and start to figure out my likes/dislikes and my use case changes over time.

Dont know what my budget should be - thats part of my issue.

Looking forward to hearing from the experts here to help a newbie sort through all this....

Re: Thermal unit recommendations [Re: TXRobTRX] #6971338 11/24/17 07:05 PM
M
Midwaytmm Offline
Tracker
Tracker
M