Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
family hunt, ATM04, Basso1964, outdoorlife1984, Daggaboy42
62662 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 83254
stxranchman 52093
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44268
BOBO the Clown 42730
bill oxner 41018
BMD 40619
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34827
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31414
facebook
Forum Stats
62662 Members
46 Forums
438267 Topics
6036497 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#6947776 - 11/06/17 12:55 AM AR-15 accuracy all over the place
ejj005 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 268
Loc: College Station, TX
Took my new Bear Creek Arsenal to the range today in 6.5 Grendel. I had a bad experience with accuracy being as bad as being two close shots to each other and then not being able to find the shot on paper. The scope is in the same base/rings I had it in on another 6.5 grendel. So base was tightened to specs and the rings were same as before and bever had a problem.

I wrote BCA to see what they would do but after looking over it again at home I noticed my rear take down pin was about halfway out. Now I am thinking that is what caused all of this. Is that possible? Also it had problems feeding a couple of times. Ammo was quality, I had Hornady custom, hornady black and federal fusion.

Hoping it is something simple as I like the upper. It is an 18” barrel.

Any suggestions?

Top
#6947823 - 11/06/17 05:49 AM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21794
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Yes, put the pin back in all the way, and try again.

Sometimes the obvious answer is the correct answer.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6947885 - 11/06/17 07:18 AM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
ejj005 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 268
Loc: College Station, TX
Yeah I felt pretty good about it when I found it....not to mention stupid. Hope thats all it is.

Top
#6948664 - 11/06/17 03:01 PM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
cyphertext Offline
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/06
Posts: 960
Loc: Wylie, TX
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.

Top
#6948699 - 11/06/17 03:21 PM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
SapperTitan Online   content
Taking Requests

Registered: 11/17/10
Posts: 22619
Loc: Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Doubt it was the takedown pin. Id re-check the mount and scope.
_________________________


Top
#6948702 - 11/06/17 03:23 PM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
Bigfoot Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/06/14
Posts: 932
Loc: Galveston Bay
I agree with sapper check rings and scope
_________________________
Sako 85 30-06
AR 6.8SPC
HK45c

Top
#6949243 - 11/06/17 08:46 PM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
ejj005 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 268
Loc: College Station, TX
I double checked base. It was to spec. The scope and rings were never messed with. Took straight off my other gun and it shot great. Hoping the take down pin will do it. I was thinking the same thing how most of the time there is a lot of slop. Hoping it will do it though

Top
#6949250 - 11/06/17 08:49 PM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: cyphertext]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21794
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.


And there's a polymer wedge made to take that slack up, alegedly improving consistent shooting..
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6949365 - 11/06/17 10:21 PM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
Eyesofahunter Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 430
Loc: Hill Country of Texas
Accu Wedge is the name and all my ar have them.

Top
#6949366 - 11/06/17 10:23 PM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: FiremanJG]
cyphertext Offline
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/06
Posts: 960
Loc: Wylie, TX
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.


And there's a polymer wedge made to take that slack up, alegedly improving consistent shooting..


Key word being allegedly... Again, if the pin was in far enough to keep the upper from flopping forward and separating from the lower, then it had no affect. The scope is attached to the upper and the relationship and alignment of the scope with the barrel is constant, even if the upper wiggles in the lower a little. Think about it... if I separate the upper and lower completely, and then mate them back together, do I have to re-zero the scope?

There is something else going on with that rifle...

Top
#6949371 - 11/06/17 10:32 PM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
ejj005 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 268
Loc: College Station, TX
I contacted Bear Creek through email last night. I have not had an email returned yet. Going to give it another shot and hope it is right. Thanks I will update. Probably have time to shoot on Friday hopefully

Top
#6949507 - 11/07/17 06:18 AM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: cyphertext]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21794
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.


And there's a polymer wedge made to take that slack up, alegedly improving consistent shooting..


Key word being allegedly... Again, if the pin was in far enough to keep the upper from flopping forward and separating from the lower, then it had no affect. The scope is attached to the upper and the relationship and alignment of the scope with the barrel is constant, even if the upper wiggles in the lower a little. Think about it... if I separate the upper and lower completely, and then mate them back together, do I have to re-zero the scope?

There is something else going on with that rifle...


Have you ever seen a bolt action rifle shoot with extremely loose action screws? I've seen several, and the results are terrible, with fliers all over the place. Scope in rings, rings attached to rail, all is tight, but it shoots like crap.

I've taken countless barreled actions out of stocks, and replaced them, applying 65 in/lbs, and they shoot great. I've split countless AR-15 and AR-10 rifles to bore sight or clean, and once reassembled, they shoot great. But they will not shoot well if the barreled action, or the upper is loose.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6949552 - 11/07/17 07:11 AM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: FiremanJG]
cyphertext Offline
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/06
Posts: 960
Loc: Wylie, TX
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.


And there's a polymer wedge made to take that slack up, alegedly improving consistent shooting..


Key word being allegedly... Again, if the pin was in far enough to keep the upper from flopping forward and separating from the lower, then it had no affect. The scope is attached to the upper and the relationship and alignment of the scope with the barrel is constant, even if the upper wiggles in the lower a little. Think about it... if I separate the upper and lower completely, and then mate them back together, do I have to re-zero the scope?

There is something else going on with that rifle...


Have you ever seen a bolt action rifle shoot with extremely loose action screws? I've seen several, and the results are terrible, with fliers all over the place. Scope in rings, rings attached to rail, all is tight, but it shoots like crap.

I've taken countless barreled actions out of stocks, and replaced them, applying 65 in/lbs, and they shoot great. I've split countless AR-15 and AR-10 rifles to bore sight or clean, and once reassembled, they shoot great. But they will not shoot well if the barreled action, or the upper is loose.


Go grab an AR. With the rear pin fully in, wiggle the upper and notice the play. Now pull the rear pin halfway out, where it is still part way through the rear lug holding the rifle, but is not all the way through to where it is flush on the outside of the receiver... wiggle the receiver.. notice any difference in play?

Many GI Joes shoot expert every year with issued, rattle trap M4s and M16s. Slop between the receivers does not create the scenario of two close shots followed by one off the paper in an AR 15. Of course he should put the pin back in fully and try that... horses before zebras and all, but I bet there is something else going on.

Top
#6949563 - 11/07/17 07:21 AM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005]
Buzzsaw Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 06/29/11
Posts: 10300
Loc: Frisco, Texas
just read this on the AR-15 Forum

Run away from bear creek, they are the same junk under a different name. anyone who can offer a "full feature ar15" for under $500 needs to be looked at with extreme skepticism
_________________________
"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait



Top
#6949587 - 11/07/17 07:33 AM Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: cyphertext]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21794
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Of course he should put the pin back in fully and try that... horses before zebras and all, but I bet there is something else going on.


Nooowww, you've caught up. Seems like I said that a couple of days ago.

It costs zero dollars to put the pin back in. That is step number 1. If the rifle STILL doesn't shoot, then move onto rings, scope, ammo.

This place is exhausting sometimes.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide