Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics537,809
Posts9,729,364
Members87,042
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
New to AR's---need some advice, comments, general info #6937282 10/29/17 12:59 AM
O
okjhutch Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
O
Hi, I am looking for any advice, guidance, opinions, comments or pro/cons, or I am screwed kind of thing.

I am new to the AR- world, I told myself I would never get one but the other day Cabelas had those Anderson manufacturing .223/5.56 on
sale for 399.99. I broke down and placed my order over the phone and it will be delivered to a certain store.

Are these AR's a piece of crap? Or good enough for me as a beginner into this AR-world. It probably wont get shot to much
Can I put a regular rifle scope on top of these AR's or do they require a specific AR type of scope. It has a base on it as long as the whole top. It does not have a front swivel sling, i'll have to buy one,(more money) are the swivels model specific?
Where is the over all best place to get stuff for Ar's, I am going to be on a budget. I also get the feeling that once you get a AR that budget gets thrown out the window.

I was told by the rep with Cabelas that once I get to the store and don't like it I can return it only at that time, as long as it does not leave the store, so I do have that option too. I am hoping this is a decent rifle and i can put a regular rifle scope on for shots up to 100 yards. I also had the option to get one with a 30 rd clip or a 10 rd, I went with a 10 with the thought that it is shorter and would not get in the way carrying and shooting from the bench, and I figured if just had to have a 30 rd clip I could just go buy one.