Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Dourado, Do-Nothin, Connorj47, Txlonghorn, Blacqy
62805 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 83628
stxranchman 52093
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44289
BOBO the Clown 42879
bill oxner 41614
BMD 40619
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34888
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31420
facebook
Forum Stats
62805 Members
46 Forums
440035 Topics
6059617 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6937495 - 10/29/17 02:26 AM Game cam issue
crozierk Online   content
Light Foot

Registered: 05/23/16
Posts: 39
Hey y'all. I set two wild game innovation cameras up on my feeders a couple months back. I bought an insignia card reader that plugs into my phone and the first time I checked them I used it and it worked fine. Checked em again and they didn't seem to take any pictures. I didn't turn the cameras off when I pulled the cards out and put em back in. Any ideas on what happened?

Top
#6937552 - 10/29/17 06:38 AM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
TUFBOY Offline


Registered: 04/05/09
Posts: 20
Always turn your camera off before pulling the cards failure to do so erease all pictures on the card.

Top
#6937581 - 10/29/17 07:37 AM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
tailchaser93 Online   content
Light Foot

Registered: 06/24/17
Posts: 43
Loc: Deep East Texas
Try putting your card in your computer... I had the same problem my card viewer wouldn't show any pictures but I put the cards in the computer and the pictures were there.

Top
#6937611 - 10/29/17 08:24 AM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
Jimbo1 Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/25/12
Posts: 1588
Loc: Moran/Grand Prairie, TX
I never turn off when replacing SD cards, sounds like card viewer problem.

Top
#6937639 - 10/29/17 08:44 AM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
Old Stony Online   content
Woodsman

Registered: 07/21/16
Posts: 190
Loc: East of Dallas
I always turn the camera off when replacing cards....just hold in on the button for a few seconds until the led goes off. It just takes a second to touch the button and turn it back on after putting the new card in. I had a lot of problems before I started doing this and none now.

Top
#6937641 - 10/29/17 08:45 AM Re: Game cam issue [Re: TUFBOY]
Tff caribou Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/27/12
Posts: 3408
Loc: Watauga, TX
Originally Posted By: TUFBOY
Always turn your camera off before pulling the cards failure to do so erease all pictures on the card.


That’s not true.
_________________________
The very atmosphere of firearms anywhere and everywhere restrains evil interference. -George Washington

Top
#6937649 - 10/29/17 08:52 AM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
dkershen Online   content


Registered: 05/14/09
Posts: 17516
Loc: Denton/Argyle
Did you read your manual? My camera has a set of buttons you push to erase all the old pics and initialize the card. It then flashes the battery level and lets me know it's good to go.
_________________________

To be sure of hitting the target, shoot first and call whatever you hit the target.
www.NewHopeEquine.com

Top
#6937846 - 10/29/17 12:25 PM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
rickym Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 06/14/15
Posts: 5534
Loc: texas
Ive never turned mine off before changing the cards.
Sounds like a card reader or formatting issue
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Grizz
Wingshooting is like sex for me - I love doing it but I'm just not that good at it.

Top
#6938127 - 10/29/17 05:02 PM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
mow Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/17/12
Posts: 1306
Loc: granbury,texas 76048
all cameras i have had always says to turn camera off before removing card..

Top
#6938160 - 10/29/17 05:23 PM Re: Game cam issue [Re: rickym]
Simple Searcher Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/30/12
Posts: 5440
Loc: Helotes, Hext
Originally Posted By: rickym
Ive never turned mine off before changing the cards.
Sounds like a card reader or formatting issue

Yup, I have 8 Wild Game cameras and have never turned one off to remove the card, never been a problem.
But I have had some that for whatever reason will turn themselves off when I remove the card. So when I put cards back in, I check that they are powered up, or no pictures.
_________________________


"Man is still a hunter, still a simple searcher after meat..." Robert C. Ruark

Top
#6938409 - 10/29/17 08:03 PM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
soonersorlaters Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/13/15
Posts: 133
Loc: Mansfield, TX
Recommend any card with pics be formatted before putting back into same or different camera. It's the best way to avoid problems. I also power off any camera before removing card and insert new card before powering on. It seems to have served well with not missing pics.

Top
#6938454 - 10/29/17 08:26 PM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
crozierk Online   content
Light Foot

Registered: 05/23/16
Posts: 39
Well, took the cameras and cards home. Looks like I just did something wrong and the cameras weren't on or something. They seem to be working fine now. Kind of a bummer but at least I learned a lesson!

Top
#6938463 - 10/29/17 08:33 PM Re: Game cam issue [Re: soonersorlaters]
Shotgun Willie Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 01/05/10
Posts: 986
Loc: McKinney, TX
Originally Posted By: soonersorlaters
Recommend any card with pics be formatted before putting back into same or different camera. It's the best way to avoid problems. I also power off any camera before removing card and insert new card before powering on. It seems to have served well with not missing pics.


Same. Except I format them through the camera settings. I've had issues with cards swapped from one manufacturer to another, formatting them through each camera has alleviated it.

Top
#6940736 - 10/31/17 10:17 AM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
Randallc Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 166
Loc: Sugartree--Throckmorton
Sounds like you may need to reformat your card.

Top
#6940748 - 10/31/17 10:22 AM Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk]
Navasot Offline
Hollywood

Registered: 09/22/11
Posts: 27464
Loc: Normangee/Navasota TX
always power down before pulling the card... if you have issues with a card just get a new one
_________________________


http://www.j5tractors.com/

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide