Print Thread
?? About Spooking Deer On Public Land #6921349 10/15/17 08:33 PM
K
Kawabuggy Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
K
Here's the scenario.. I am not a good deer hunter. I acknowledge this up front. I have been hunting Sam Houston for 9 years now and have not harvested a deer in that time. I have seen LOTS of does, and lots of young bucks that DO NOT meet antler restrictions, and even a couple of OLD bucks that still, did not meet antler restrictions. Prior to this I was only concentrating on killing a legal buck. 9 years later, and I'm ready to take a doe with my bow.

I have this problem where if I'm scouting and I find deer sign-scat, rubs, scrapes, poop, actually see or spook one, etc; I NEVER see them again at those locations. It's like once I find their playground I must be leaving my scent behind and they literally abandon the area and NEVER go back. Yes, I've checked places YEARS later after I've found well-worn trails with scrapes for 100+ yards, and after I've never found any sign of them again-NADA, ever again. I'm not kidding. Once I find a place they frequent, or scare one somewhere, that area is DEER FREE for the remainder of time (or at least the last 9 years).