Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: The ongoing food plot story [Re: Texas buckeye] #6937075 10/28/17 08:56 PM
C
crumrw Offline
Tracker
Tracker
C
Looking great! This is my first year for plots as well.

Re: The ongoing food plot story [Re: Texas buckeye] #7100383 03/04/18 04:27 AM
T
Texas buckeye Online Content OP
THF Celebrity
OP Online Content
THF Celebrity
T
Quick update, my place didn’t get much rain this late fall early winter, so I never dropped thensecond set of fertilizer. The plots did ok, best one was the extreme plot, but without exclusion cages it is hard to tell if the other plots didn’t do well, were too dry, or got over grazed (which is a definite possibility due to the deer pressure and tracks and sign throughout the plots).

We just got a bunch of rain, as did a lot of the viewing area, so I plan to prepare some new plots for whitetail power plant. This is a mixture of soybeans, sun henna and sunflowers (which are suppose to act as a scaffolding for the soybeans to grow onto). I plan to do 4 plots of this, each between an acre and 1.5 acres. All concentrated roughly in the same area to ease some of the pressure but also give the deer some good eats and fawning cover. I hope to get most of the ground work done over the next two weeks and be ready to plant toward the beginning of April if the temps increase.

I am also going to plant some more extreme to make the plot about an acre to 1.25 and another acre of chicory (whitetail chic magnet) so I hope to get those planted over the next two weeks as well.