5991852 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6853207 - 08/11/17 04:34 PM Alligator Hunt
btpatriot Offline
Tracker

Loc: Beeville, Tx
I was drawn to hunt alligator this year at J.D. Murphree WMA. This is my first time getting drawn so I am hoping some of you who have experience could share some of your knowledge with me.

Thanks

Adam

#6853272 - 08/11/17 05:52 PM Re: Alligator Hunt [Re: btpatriot]
SnakeWrangler Offline
THF Celebrity

Loc: Fairfield, TX
cheers

Good luck....hope you get a monster lizard....

"Death is permanent...everything else is temporary!"

"You Cannot Simultaneously Be Politically Correct And Intellectually Honest!"

#6853301 - 08/11/17 06:11 PM Re: Alligator Hunt [Re: btpatriot]
Palehorse Offline
Extreme Tracker

Loc: Surfside Beach, TX
Got drawn there about 3 years ago. Here's how it goes. You check in about mid morning the first day. You will attend an orientation and they will loan you one big cane pole and one rebar anchor. You will get an assigned area and they will tell you how to get there.
Find an area in your area that has either visible gators or gator sign. You take your cane pole and stick it in the mud at an angle over the water and drive your anchor into the mud close to the pole. Tie the end of your line to the anchor and the other end you will suspend the attached hook loosely with a rubber band or clothespin a couple of feet over the water. Bait with a ripe, half rotten chicken quarter. Leave and go directly to a bar and drink several cold beers.