Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Anything, JayJacked, maxout1, Qoutfitters, jco9
61987 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 81814
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44190
BOBO the Clown 42272
BMD 40617
bill oxner 38662
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34380
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31248
facebook
Forum Stats
61987 Members
46 Forums
430090 Topics
5929396 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6849540 - 08/08/17 01:11 PM How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord?
BooneDog Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/11/12
Posts: 220
Loc: Argyle,TX


Now that we are almost done setting up our deer hunting area it is time to start getting camp ready. We have 6 campers in our group so some folks are going to be over 50' from the pole. We are arguing among ourselves over what kind of cords we need. Some think 2 fifty foot 30 amp cords will work (10gauge)and others think we need to build some cords out of 6 gauge wire. Which cost 1.65 a foot plus plugs on the ends.

What does the THF world think? During season it won't be a big deal but when running the Ac labor weekend it is going to be a nightmare I think. When we were all younger and had small cheap campers we did not have that many problems but now that we are all family guys and have 30 foot campers it is a different story.

Top
#6849568 - 08/08/17 01:41 PM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 25553
Loc: Texas
We run our 30-footer on a 10 ga 100 foot cord with no issues. Don't try to run the a/c and microwave at the same time.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#6849582 - 08/08/17 01:55 PM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
Texan Til I Die Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/18/09
Posts: 1900
Loc: Central Texas
_________________________
Silver spurs and gold tequila
keep me hanging on.
Pretty girls and old cantinas
give me shelter from the storm.

Top
#6849616 - 08/08/17 02:24 PM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
BooneDog Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/11/12
Posts: 220
Loc: Argyle,TX
That's a good chart. Thank you

Top
#6851016 - 08/09/17 04:46 PM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
soonerdg Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 07/13/07
Posts: 291
Go to the RV dealer and buy 100' 30A extension cords. They will work just fine. Although they're going to cost you more than $1.65/ft.

Top
#6851031 - 08/09/17 04:59 PM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 25553
Loc: Texas
I know I already said it and it was maybe ignored, maybe not, but you don't need a 30 amp cord to run it. If you want to run everything at the same time yes, but a regular 10 ga 100 foot will run your a/c all day long, I do it about 6 weeks a year. In the winter time you don't need a 30 amp, a 15 or 20 will do most anything. A 20 amp will even do the A/C if you are very careful about what else you turn on.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#6851694 - 08/10/17 10:18 AM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
BooneDog Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/11/12
Posts: 220
Loc: Argyle,TX
Red chevy


That's kind of what I thought. I am just being a little paranoid because this is my 3rd camper but the first big new one I have owned. The first campers where cash money ones. It is actually a 50 amp camper but we only have 30 amp breakers and a 200 amp pole at camp. So the three of us with 50's have to run on 30 so we don't take all the power.

Been pricing 2 thirty amp cords and comparing to buying 6 gauge wire and making our own.

Top
#6851712 - 08/10/17 10:42 AM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
Dalroo Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/03/16
Posts: 471
Loc: The Heart of Texas
I have a 100' 30 amp cord and never a problem running it all on my TT. Agree could even go with 10g if careful about combined loads. Sometimes when had camper at house cleaning or loading, would plug a regular orange extension cord, and like RC said, it would run AC, but nothing else without tripping breaker.
_________________________
Dalroo
Deep in the Heart of Texas
Moslah Shrine Temple - 2B1 ASK1

Top
#6851733 - 08/10/17 11:06 AM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
DTCOOPER Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 11/11/04
Posts: 3932
Loc: Lindale, TX
A "30 amp cord" is actually 10 gauge.. I wouldn't use a 100' cord, if you don't need 100'. Buy one, cut it in half, and add a plug and connector, to make you two cords.
A few things to consider - do NOT leave your cords coiled up.. lay them out in large, "S" patterns to take up space. Induction is a real thing..
Using a smaller cord, you're fine initially.. but as current continues, heat builds, resistance goes up, current goes up, then you're voltage will be decreased as load increases. This is what burns up compressors on your AC units..

You don't need 6 awg wire.. that's truly overkill, unless you're pulling power a LONG ways..
A camper AC unit will draw about 12-18 amps when running. But it may draw 25+ to start.. And every time it does, you're slowly melting the blades in a 15 or 20 amp cord.. And they usually burn up when you need the AC the most.. On a Hot Saturday afternoon..
_________________________
Daniel Cooper
Ignorance and Apathy:
been getting Democrats elected since 1776

Top
#6855545 - 08/14/17 08:03 AM Re: How many feet of 30 Amp extension cord? [Re: BooneDog]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 25553
Loc: Texas
We have a 30 foot travel trailer with single air conditioner. The start up requirement for the A/C (I checked the tag on it) is 1850 watts or if I googled and calculated right 15.42 amps. After startup it is significantly lower.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide