Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Trophytaker3, HandgunsofTexas, Archer77, brianaustintx, GBE302
62384 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 82665
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44230
BOBO the Clown 42528
BMD 40617
bill oxner 39891
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34518
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31354
facebook
Forum Stats
62384 Members
46 Forums
435177 Topics
5993609 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6839165 - 07/30/17 06:55 PM 55 gallon drum
Alex49 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/06/16
Posts: 58
Loc: DFW
OK guys I've looked and couldn't find anything so here it is. I got my hands on a 55 gallon barrel from a local dealership that's been thoroughly cleaned out that I'm gonna build a new feeder with. Problem is the barrel doesn't have an opening but I can cut the top off just want to be able to seal it back up after filling and can't find a way to do that. And also how would I go about attaching my legs to the barrel? I'm pretty sure I've got the motor and battery situation covered but I'll see. Thanks in advance

Top
#6839177 - 07/30/17 06:59 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
Dave3575 Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 02/12/12
Posts: 1089
Loc: Plano, TX
weld 3 receivers to the barrel for the legs; use square tubing that has an ID bigger than the OD of your legs. make sure you use a cone inside the barrel and get a slip-cover for the top from academy.

Top
#6839213 - 07/30/17 07:16 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Dave3575]
MoTex Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/11/12
Posts: 397
Loc: Allen Texas
Get the kit for legs (barrel band) or bolt the reciever legs on the barrel. I agree with a lid that slips on, much easier.

Top
#6839225 - 07/30/17 07:28 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
TEXASLEFTY Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 10/26/07
Posts: 8568
Loc: The Island Cres
http://www.cabelas.com/product/Boss-Buck-Barrel-Band-Leg-Kit/2066388.uts

Use this. Simple, easy, cheap and no new places too leak.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Chunky Monkey
Never been to a camping world. I prefer Dick's to be honest.

Top
#6840075 - 07/31/17 01:14 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
ETXFIREMAN 1 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/20/10
Posts: 3494
Loc: Canton, Tx
http://www.bossbuck.com/products/parts/lids.html

I have 2 of these lids and no problems so far. I keep a brick or good sized rock on top just cus....
_________________________
Originally Posted By: BMD
No doubt about the AR crap, just damn shame hunters don't have self control and knowledge



Top
#6840089 - 07/31/17 01:24 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
YellowDog Online   crying
Tracker

Registered: 09/27/12
Posts: 782
Loc: No Place to Hunt/Fish
Get a lid from Amazon. 15 bucks if I remember right. Took the original lid and mounted the motor to it on the bottom of the feeder. Help keep the racoon out. Then on the legs I just bolted to the feeder at an angle .


Edited by YellowDog (07/31/17 04:49 PM)
_________________________
Born to Hunt/Fish

Top
#6840957 - 08/01/17 06:28 AM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
magspa Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 01/15/12
Posts: 456
I like to use 1.5" conduit for the legs instead of those 3-piecce legs that rust quick or hogs can knock apart. Their the same price anyway.
_________________________

Top
#6850921 - 08/09/17 03:26 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
blazin Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 10/25/11
Posts: 2189
Loc: Texas
I cut out the centers of some old saw blades I had laying around and just made some thick welding tabs for square tubing. Drilled them and welded onto them at an angle. Feeder I made is still working fine.

Top
#6852657 - 08/11/17 07:53 AM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
huntindude Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/10/06
Posts: 989
Loc: Trinity county
make sure you attach the legs half way up the barrel. Prevent rodents from reaching the spinner from the legs. It works.

Top
#6852660 - 08/11/17 07:54 AM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
huntindude Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/10/06
Posts: 989
Loc: Trinity county
critter too.

Top
#6853400 - 08/11/17 07:12 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: YellowDog]
Wilhunt Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/26/13
Posts: 3237
Loc: New Braunfels, San Saba county
Originally Posted By: YellowDog
Get a lid from Amazon. 15 bucks if I remember right. Took the original lid and mounted the motor to it on the bottom of the feeder. Help keep the racoon out. Then on the legs I just bolted to the feeder at an angle .


How about a picture, I have thought of doing the same.

Top
#6898429 - 09/25/17 02:14 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
YellowDog Online   crying
Tracker

Registered: 09/27/12
Posts: 782
Loc: No Place to Hunt/Fish
_________________________
Born to Hunt/Fish

Top
#6899419 - 09/26/17 10:24 AM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: YellowDog]
TiggerV Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 07/08/15
Posts: 141
^^^^^^^
Simply Brilliant.


Edited by TiggerV (09/26/17 10:24 AM)

Top
#6899680 - 09/26/17 01:05 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
nate33 Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 11/16/16
Posts: 366
in reality, if you dont know how to put a top on it, and you dont know how to attach legs to it,,,you probably would be better off buying one already made.

Top
#6899755 - 09/26/17 02:17 PM Re: 55 gallon drum [Re: Alex49]
colt45 Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/19/06
Posts: 7176
Loc: bastrop county
I would find the barrels with removable lids with the locking rings
_________________________
hold on Newt, we got a runaway

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide