Print Thread
New and have a few questions #6829572 07/21/17 03:01 AM
R
Rickybobby8 Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
R
I am pretty new to deer hunting, have a doe and one buck....but on a private lease. I wanted something I could do more than once a year and more of a challenge. I have read over the last year's worth of post and they have answered a ton of questions. I have a few more I hope get answered with y'all's help. Sorry if they are "rookie" questions...in my defense...I am a rookie for most purposes.

- I keep reading "couldn't shoot a doe because I didn't have a doe tag". This mostly refers to shsp, but when I pull the information it says archery is either sex and special permit for gun doe. I'm I reading this right?

- do you field dress or are you allowed to quarter a deer in the field? Do any of the lands have a place where you could quarter a deer and dispose of remaining carcus?

- you can't camp outside of "camping areas"...are you still allowed to head to the field hours before first light? Is there a time limit on when you can head out?

- is there a way to let other hunters know you are hunting an area? I do not want to walk across someone and miss a sign that tells me to walk around.

I am hoping to get better with a bow to the point i am confident. If not I will skip archery season.
Reading I know nothing is guaranteed on public lands. Wanted more of a challenge then shooting high fenced feeders. Don't get me wrong, if I get to go to ranch again I won't pass it up. But not exactly the outdoors experience I'm looking for.

Last edited by Rickybobby8; 07/21/17 03:03 AM.
Re: New and have a few questions [Re: Rickybobby8] #6829946 07/21/17 03:41 PM
D
ducknbass Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
D
1. Different counties have different regulations, then the public land your hinting on could have regulations that vary from county. So read both.