Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
' Mirage' theory... #6829413 07/21/17 12:32 AM
P_102 Online Content OP
Extreme Tracker
OP Online Content
Extreme Tracker
To preface this, I have little or no scientific knowledge to back this up, it's just something my mind tells me should be true: My theory is that, no matter how bad the mirage is, it will not move the target any more than its own size. Example: No wind so mirage is going straight up...the target you'see' will be no more than the original target directly above itself...no space in between, or, with severe mirage going up and to the right, the target you see will be no more than the bottom left corner of that target touching the top right corner of the real target.
(Do I have you confused?) Teach me...

P_102

Do not trifle in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.
Re: ' Mirage' theory... [Re: P_102] #6829424 07/21/17 12:42 AM
R
RiverRider Online Confused
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Confused
THF Trophy Hunter
R
I'll bet JG can elucidate on this subject. That's right up his alley.

[Linked Image]

"Arguing with you always makes me thirsty."

-Augustus McRae
Re: ' Mirage' theory... [Re: P_102] #6829426 07/21/17 12:43 AM
J.G. Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
You're right about size. It's never come up in my thinking. Mirage will distort the target, making it difficult to find the edges. Fortunately I get to spent many hours a year behind glass, and most of the time there is mirage. Target color and background color have lots to do with what you can or cannot see.