Rifle suggestions #6763080 05/13/17 03:16 PM
T
Texaspilot Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
T
Howdy,

I am new to the sport of hunting and hope to go this fall. I have some experience with pistols, but almost none with rifles and I am currently researching what I should get. The only rifle I have shot a bit is my old ruger 10/22, and a model 94 Winchester in .357.

Based on the reading I have done online I believe a rifle in .308 is best for me. (Low kick, affordable, easy to find, and powerful enough for what I want to do.) I live in East Texas and will probably do most of my hunting within 5 hours of Houston. I primarily want to hunt deer and hogs, although I have family in the mountain west and would love to do an elk hunt with them one day and want my rifle to be able to do this as well. I don't want to own a bunch of different guns. (My wife says I already have too many hand guns.) I haven't hunted before, so I don't know, but I plan on doing a lot of hiking with the weapon since I don't know any good spots, I will have to find them, so I think a lighter rifle that I can put a sling on is good. I want it to be reasonably accurate, but I am neither a sniper or sharpshooter, so I may not need the most accurate rifle. I would like to mount a good quality scope on it. I have read barrel length can create more power, so I also want it to be strong enough to kill game humanely. I also want something that is good quality and a nice gun, yet I don't want so much invested in it that I am too worried about it in the field. I would like it to be rugged enough to throw in the back of the truck, and hopefully last long enough to give it to my son one day.

I know that is quite a bit and may not be possible, but I would really like to hear y'all's input on this. Thanks.

Re: Rifle suggestions [Re: Texaspilot] #6763083 05/13/17 03:24 PM
T
TFF Caribou Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
T