Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JohnVidal, Huntin24, rgrx1276, Martin Pazdera, roshraj
61999 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 81847
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44192
BOBO the Clown 42272
BMD 40617
bill oxner 38688
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34380
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31250
facebook
Forum Stats
61999 Members
46 Forums
430268 Topics
5931242 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6626171 - 01/10/17 02:43 PM Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting?
Stripermania Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 04/13/11
Posts: 23
Sitting in a blind waiting for hogs to show up at the feeder can be tiresome so I rely on motion sensors to tell me when the hogs are at the feeder while I sleep or surf the web. I have used several models and really have not find one to work reliably at 120 yards w/o trees (crow’s flight) so I would like to know what you have used and how you rate them. Here are the ones I used:

Driveway Patrol - $15 – Rated for 133 yards but it doesn’t work for me at 120 yards. Works great at 60 yards so if this the distance you hunt, it one is the best for the price.

Household Alert - $35 – Rated for 266 yards but it doesn’t work reliably for me at 120 yards

Guardline - $99 – Rated for 166 yards but it doesn’t work reliably for me at 120 yards

Miltronics Hunters Alert - $249 with 2 transmitters – most disappointing for the high price. Rated for 333 yards but it is not working reliably for me at 120 yards

Chamberlain CWA2000 - $60 – 880 yards – I have not used this one yet. Wonder how good it is.

What do you use and what would you recommend?

Thanks,

Top
#6626212 - 01/10/17 03:10 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
CharlieCTx Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 05/27/13
Posts: 1182
Loc: Flower Mound, TX
After your post on what you used, I went and looked them up and found this site.

http://www.gadgetshack.com/wireless-driveway-alarms/

What I focused on was the detection range of the detector itself. The range to the receiver seemed to be way longer than needed (for me 150yds).

Lowest seems to be 30ft via the Chamberlain (what I use) and a few others on here have used. The highest was 50ft. I never did find a spec for the Miltronics one you have.

I think what's telling is the detection field as stated is like 40' on one one of them. Depending on where you have it, that's not that big of space given the size of the average hog hunting arena. (30-50ft distance with a 40' view)

Per the other post, I think you're missing more than you know by relying on those so much, I know I was. You need something to scan with.

Click this --> Leupold scope

Charlie

Top
#6626229 - 01/10/17 03:22 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
diablodog Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 04/23/15
Posts: 44
I have used the 1/4 mile Guardline for over a year at 300 yards in a non-line of sight with no problems . I have taken a lot of hogs with it .The adjustable volume and different tones are a big help . I had Chamberlains but could not hear the alert sound and both corroded inside to be beyond use after a year , in dry west Tx.

Top
#6626335 - 01/10/17 04:35 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
Stripermania Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 04/13/11
Posts: 23
CharlieCTx - Miltronics website is not easy to navigate to find stuff. Here is the link:

https://drivewayalert.com/system/hunters-alert%C2%AE-system

diablodog - where to you position your sensor? How high off the ground and how far from the expected animal standing?

Thanks

Top
#6627187 - 01/11/17 08:23 AM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
bornforit Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 12/11/06
Posts: 354
Loc: Longview, Tx
I went this route for a period of time. I found that most of the time the pigs didn't come that night as expected. Whether it was from checking my camera to pinpoint when to be in the stand or whatever. I have switched to cell cameras. Now I dont disturb the area. And if I get a txt I generally drive out and shoot them. Saved a lot of time sitting in a stand in the dark doing nothing, and gas wasted from not seeing anything. The time saving keeps the wife at bay and allots me to go hunting when I want. I actually think it lets me out of the house more. BC she gets tired "of the pigs txting me"...

Top
#6627199 - 01/11/17 08:30 AM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
Tbar Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/02/08
Posts: 10267
I have used the Chamberlin for a couple of years now and it works great. Distance is 750 feet from the house.

http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/6609261/Re:_First_Hunt_With_The_Therma#Post6609261
_________________________
Make America Great Again


Top
#6627784 - 01/11/17 03:01 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
HornSlayer Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/13/07
Posts: 1159
Loc: Azle, TX
I use the harbor freight driveway alarm. Max distance is about 80 yards. The beeper is way to loud. But for $12 its hard to beat. I am going to try and hack a telescoping antenna to mine to see if the distance is improved. That is if radio shack has one. I need 120 yards reliable effective range. Looks like it will be easy.


Edited by HornSlayer (01/11/17 03:38 PM)

Top
#6627794 - 01/11/17 03:09 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: bornforit]
baconluvr Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 01/08/17
Posts: 25
Originally Posted By: bornforit
I went this route for a period of time. I found that most of the time the pigs didn't come that night as expected. Whether it was from checking my camera to pinpoint when to be in the stand or whatever. I have switched to cell cameras. Now I dont disturb the area. And if I get a txt I generally drive out and shoot them. Saved a lot of time sitting in a stand in the dark doing nothing, and gas wasted from not seeing anything. The time saving keeps the wife at bay and allots me to go hunting when I want. I actually think it lets me out of the house more. BC she gets tired "of the pigs txting me"...


Do you have any suggestions for both a make/model cell cam and your cell provider? I can use either Verizon or AT&T, but if there is a particular brand that doesn't play nice with CDMA or GSM I'd like to know that in advance. Thanks for your input.

Top
#6628225 - 01/11/17 08:26 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
a74aggie Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 09/12/10
Posts: 101
Loc: Texas
Great idea. This is exactly what I need. I will give one a try, then move it to my driveway !!!!
_________________________
“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” Edmund Burke

I refuse to have a battle of wits with an unarmed person

Top
#6628301 - 01/11/17 09:01 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
glocker17 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 01/03/16
Posts: 328
Loc: RGV
Quote:
Do you have any suggestions for both a make/model cell cam and your cell provider? I can use either Verizon or AT&T, but if there is a particular brand that doesn't play nice with CDMA or GSM I'd like to know that in advance. Thanks for your input.


I use a Covert Code Black AT&T for that same purpose, works great.

Top
#6628523 - 01/11/17 10:55 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
HornSlayer Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/13/07
Posts: 1159
Loc: Azle, TX
Tonight I added an antenna to my harbor freight DRIVEWAY PATROL prim transmitter. Before I made the change I tested it and was getting reliable triggers out to 120 yards. I added a switch to turn the unit on and off and added a cheap radio shack rf antenna. Afterward I again tested the unit and was able to get a reliable trigger out to 200 yards which was a far as I could get and still see the red led light up on the receiver.



Edited by HornSlayer (01/11/17 10:56 PM)

Top
#6630589 - 01/13/17 09:27 AM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
D-Box Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/21/15
Posts: 72
I use a Chamberlain motion sensor and have been pretty happy with it. On 26 acres, it transmits from the feeder through thick trees and brush to my RV about 500' away with no problem. The only issue I have had is that the 2nd set of batteries corroded after a month or so. The sensor has led to several kills when the hogs show up during the day. Of course sometimes it's a deer.

Top
#6632369 - 01/14/17 02:48 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
Beckett Offline
Tracker

Registered: 09/19/09
Posts: 636
Loc: Plano
HCO makes good cellular cameras also. Ive used them for 5 yrs with no problems.
_________________________
NRA LIFE MEMBER

Top
#6633071 - 01/14/17 10:37 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania]
nak Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/26/12
Posts: 1047
Loc: DFW
After fooling with several different "cheap" attempts at motion detectors for pigs, I bought a pair of Dakota Alert MURS motion sensors and a compatible walkie talkie. WOW. It made me regret fooling with the cheaper rigs. I have one on a feeder near the river, which is almost a 1/2 mile, from my cabin, through the woods. The second is on a feeder about 165 years from the cabin. It has no problem covering the 1/2 mile between the two units. I get about 3 months on a set of 6 AA batteries. The each have a unique number, so you can tell which one is going off. Since they each have a programmable guard tone, I can set the walkie talkie to only respond to one, or both.

With a little tweaking, they can be adjusted so they are pretty much immune to raccoons, but reliably trigger on pigs. (If I could just get them to ignore deer )

_________________________
NRA Lifer / Member TSRA

Top
#6655158 - 01/30/17 08:38 PM Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: nak]
mattyg06 Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/22/14
Posts: 1073
Originally Posted By: nak
After fooling with several different "cheap" attempts at motion detectors for pigs, I bought a pair of Dakota Alert MURS motion sensors and a compatible walkie talkie. WOW. It made me regret fooling with the cheaper rigs. I have one on a feeder near the river, which is almost a 1/2 mile, from my cabin, through the woods. The second is on a feeder about 165 years from the cabin. It has no problem covering the 1/2 mile between the two units. I get about 3 months on a set of 6 AA batteries. The each have a unique number, so you can tell which one is going off. Since they each have a programmable guard tone, I can set the walkie talkie to only respond to one, or both.

With a little tweaking, they can be adjusted so they are pretty much immune to raccoons, but reliably trigger on pigs. (If I could just get them to ignore deer )




That's what we used as well. They work extremely well. We had 2 feeders set up to 'hunt' from the house. One 250 yds across a draw and the other 150 yards in the opposite direction in thicker oaks. We had no problem get signal inside of the house from either unit.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide