5786810 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#6624805 - 01/09/17 08:12 PM Training Collars
RutledgeRealtyGroup Offline
Woodsman

Loc: Weatherford, TX
I'm new to the training collar world and I'm searching for some inside advice. Between the SportDOG SD 425 and the Garmin Sport Pro, does anyone have any personal experience with either? I have a friend that recommends the SportDOG because he has had Garmins and he wasn't too impressed with them. I have two, one year old labs.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by RutledgeRealtyGroup (01/09/17 08:16 PM)
Cell: 817-694-2954 (Call or Text)
Email:rutledgechase4@yahoo.com

#6624934 - 01/09/17 08:59 PM Re: Training Collars [Re: RutledgeRealtyGroup]
Leonardo Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Loc: Wise County
I use a Garmin Pro 550 two collar system. Train 4 to 5 days a week and dont have any issues.

#6624939 - 01/09/17 09:02 PM Re: Training Collars [Re: RutledgeRealtyGroup]
BradyBuck Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Loc: Abilene, TX
In general Garmin and Dogtra are the top of the line e-collar manufacturers. Most pros who use e-collars day in and day out year after year use Garmin and Dogtra....

You will get a wide range of opinions but the facts are that Garmin and Dogtra are the better collars.

With that said I guess if you bought a lower end Garmin vs the top of the line SportDog they could be similar in quality.

I personally use the Dogtra 1900s and I really like it. I use it almost every day and Ive charged it twice in a year. The next collar I get will probably be the Dogtra edge RT or Garmin Pro 550 due to the difference in level selection.

#6625518 - 01/10/17 08:22 AM Re: Training Collars [Re: RutledgeRealtyGroup]
kbobbjr Offline
Veteran Tracker

Loc: Josephine, Tx