Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
LuisGabriel, marnold, Cl3anslat3, VirginiaHunter, GoGo Gadjet
60482 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77564
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43788
BOBO the Clown 41125
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32683
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30572
facebook
Forum Stats
60482 Members
45 Forums
476318 Topics
6248268 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6563835 - 11/29/16 10:36 AM Labradar
P & Y Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/28/10
Posts: 948
Loc: North East Texas
Anyone have the labradar and put it to the test. I'm considering one and looking for feedback
_________________________



Top
#6563861 - 11/29/16 10:48 AM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
kmon1 Offline
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20311
Loc: Texas
There are a few

Some links to past discussions link1 link2 link3
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6563977 - 11/29/16 12:18 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9433
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Yes, I have one. It's the best chrono on the market. Here's my typical range set up when shooting.

_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6564222 - 11/29/16 02:34 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
jeffbird Offline


Registered: 03/09/09
Posts: 1725
Been very pleased with my Labradar. Sold my Oehler 35 after using the Labradar a couple of times.

The Labradar is far, far more convenient to use, and thus, it is used far more often.

Definitely would recommend it.

Chad, what was the external battery pack you recommended?

Top
#6564243 - 11/29/16 02:48 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9433
Loc: Lewisville, TX
One of my buddies bought a basic battery pack off Amazon that plugs into the USB port for power. He gets about 8-10 range trips before it needs recharged. I think it's some kind of a computer battery. I'll find out if you want. I go through AA batteries about every other range trip (maybe each trip if a long range session), as much as I use mine.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6564358 - 11/29/16 04:06 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
Ranch Dog Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 07/15/05
Posts: 1088
Loc: Cuero
I'm Labradar guy, love it. It is so handy you will use it just about every time you pull the trigger.



Pictured here while sighting in a Rossi R92 454 Casull SRC-Scout rifle this past week. I have the LBR battery pack and have only charged it once this year, I shoot a lot. If I had unplugged the white cable every time I put it away I would not have had to charge it that one time. I also have the base plate for the bench.

So far the only issue I've had is with a 218 Bee using Trail Boss. I could not get the unit to trigger at any setting and using doppler I would get an error. Velocity is around 1250 with my 50 grain cast bullet and I'm wondering if the Trail Boss kernels blowing out the barrels are messing with the doppler and creating the error. I will eventually get back to that shooting and figure it out but might have to get with LBR and see what they say.

Oh I had some cattle panels laying on my shooting range and it really jacked with it. Moved them over a few feet to one side and problem solved.

I shoot cast bullets of my own designs and it has been most helpful determining the actual BC of the bullet from two velocities from the track info. Use software to calculate it from there but that being done as part of the LBR stats would be most useful.

Top
#6564371 - 11/29/16 04:12 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
Ranch Dog Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 07/15/05
Posts: 1088
Loc: Cuero
I went straight to LBR and asked them for their suggestion to the issue I wrote about above.

Top
#6564388 - 11/29/16 04:18 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9433
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Ranch Dog, are you running an external power supply? My buddy that runs the external battery supply was having issues picking up some sub sonic ammo. We unplugged it and installed some AA batteries, and it started working. We had the Radar right next to the muzzle on the most sensitive level (level 1 on mine). With the external power supply, it seems to be sensitive to this. I'm not sure why.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6564417 - 11/29/16 04:32 PM Re: Labradar [Re: ChadTRG42]
Ranch Dog Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 07/15/05
Posts: 1088
Loc: Cuero
Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
Ranch Dog, are you running an external power supply? My buddy that runs the external battery supply was having issues picking up some sub sonic ammo. We unplugged it and installed some AA batteries, and it started working. We had the Radar right next to the muzzle on the most sensitive level (level 1 on mine). With the external power supply, it seems to be sensitive to this. I'm not sure why.

Yes, running the LBR external power supply. Thanks for the tip and I will give it a try next week! Leaving on a mule deer hunt through the weekend.

Top
#6564428 - 11/29/16 04:41 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
kmon1 Offline
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20311
Loc: Texas
Good luck on the hunt RD

Have seen similar issues before with electronic equipment if the power supply is not giving a true clean DC source, a little AC on the DC power can sure play havoc with Integrated circuits which I am sure the Labradar is full of. Would make sense with Chad's working on battery but not with the external supply.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6564650 - 11/29/16 07:05 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
Judd Offline


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 10762
Loc: Sachse, TX
I've got one and have been happy with it. Like Jeffbird, I had an Oehler and sold it after using the Labradar a few times. I don't use it enough to know exactly how to works so I find myself reading the instructions more than I'd prefer. Seems like if using suppressed guns I have to have it trigger off doppler but if a muzzle break is used I have to trigger off trigger setting. Wish they could have one setting that worked for either.

I use this power pack: https://www.amazon.com/Jackery-Bar-Exter...ackery&th=1
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Phil Robertson
Don't let your ears hear what your eyes didn't see, and don't let your mouth say what your heart doesn't feel

Top
#6564754 - 11/29/16 07:30 PM Re: Labradar [Re: ChadTRG42]
colt45 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/19/06
Posts: 5397
Loc: bastrop county
Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
One of my buddies bought a basic battery pack off Amazon that plugs into the USB port for power. He gets about 8-10 range trips before it needs recharged. I think it's some kind of a computer battery. I'll find out if you want. I go through AA batteries about every other range trip (maybe each trip if a long range session), as much as I use mine.
can you use the rechargeable batteries?
_________________________
hold on Newt, we got a runaway

Top
#6564913 - 11/29/16 08:37 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
DStroud Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/02/11
Posts: 1160
Loc: Waco
They should work fine.

Top
#6569161 - 12/02/16 07:03 PM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
hidalgo Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 06/10/13
Posts: 10

Love mine, the LBR external power supply is worth getting.

Top
#6569440 - 12/03/16 02:07 AM Re: Labradar [Re: P & Y]
P & Y Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/28/10
Posts: 948
Loc: North East Texas
Thanks for the feedback! Got one headed this way
_________________________



Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide