Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics537,695
Posts9,727,866
Members87,033
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Sam Houston Deer are SMART.. Or, I'm Stupidererer Than Them #6561379 11/28/16 02:52 AM
K
Kawabuggy Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
K
This will be a long post. You have been fore-warned.

I've been hunting Sam for 8 years now trying to kill a legal deer. For the record, I have killed does when I've been lucky enough to draw a doe tag. I've also passed on many spikes-at least 8 that I can remember off the top of my head. I've never shot a spike, and don't plan on ever doing it (just my personal preference). I've also watched WAY TOO MANY basket racked 6 & 8 point deer walking around (but that's another subject). Getting that legal deer that is 13" or wider inside spread has never happened. To date I have NEVER seen a 13" wide, or wider, deer on the hoof in Sam. I know they exist, I've just never seen one.

To those of you that think scouting a good location is the answer.. You have it all wrong. Do not waste your time scouting because if you scout early season and find good sign, the deer will be long gone by the time hunting season starts (my trail cameras bear this fact out every single year). Further, if you are scouting right before, or even during, season-all you are doing is blowing the deer out of that area and it will be a LONG time before they come back. So, stop wasting time scouting is the best advise I can give you.

Last year I basically picked a spot on Google Earth, walked in, got in my climber and spooked a doe within 30 minutes of being in the tree-that was during bow season. For the rest of the season I went back to old spots that I had used previously where I had seen deer. Never saw a deer again in any place that I had been to previously. At the end of the season, I decided to just pick another spot, walk in, and have a sit. I had two does walk within shooting range, but alas-I had no doe tag.