Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Tangi, kylel, Confessor, May Harrison, Cowboy nation
60408 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77307
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43776
BOBO the Clown 41082
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33682
bill oxner 32556
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30554
facebook
Forum Stats
60408 Members
45 Forums
475481 Topics
6237641 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6557867 - 11/24/16 09:16 PM Garmin Alpha help needed
o2bwest Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/29/07
Posts: 1798
Loc: Menard TX
Twice lately my Alpha has lost communication with one of my dogs and never recovered it. It's not unusual for the handheld to loose a dog periodically but it always gets them back eventually. This last time I lost a dog at 1.25 miles and the collar never showed back up on my handheld. I didn't find the dog until the next day and she was 4 miles from where I lost her. When I found her the collar showed back up on my Alpha as soon as she jumped in my truck. That kind of thing scares the hell out of me and I really want to solve this problem. I run an Alpha with TT15 collars. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
_________________________
https://www.coyotearmory.com/




Top
#6557886 - 11/24/16 09:42 PM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
Sniper John Offline

gumshoe

Registered: 08/31/05
Posts: 16271
Loc: North Texas
Have you called Garmin about it? And what did they say? Could a weak or aging battery cause the problem might be one question to ask. I have had no problems like that, but the only time it involved that kind of range was when I tested the collar by leaving it on my dog when I went to work 3 to 4 miles away. Never lost the signal and was able to verify with my wife that I could tell what part of the house or inside or ouside where my dog was at any time that day.
_________________________

"Onward up many a frightening creek, though your arms may get sore and your sneakers may leak. Oh! The places you'll go!" ~ Dr. Seuss

Top
#6557942 - 11/24/16 10:51 PM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
Mundo Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 02/03/15
Posts: 117
Update. However, most likely an antenna problem. If the update doesn't resolve it change the antenna on your handheld. If that doesn't solve the problem consider replacing the antenna on the collar unit.

Handheld antennas wear out of break inside the rubber coating. Especially, if you are in the habit of picking up the handheld by the antenna. It is best to carry a spare antenna in your gear bag;

Top
#6557946 - 11/24/16 11:05 PM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
Sniper John Offline

gumshoe

Registered: 08/31/05
Posts: 16271
Loc: North Texas
May not be your problem, but an FYI from another forum where someone had trouble with a collar shutting down. There was stuff posted about bad batteries possibly causing problems also. But a bad antenna on collar or handheld makes sense for what you describe.


Thank you for contacting Garmin International. If you have a TT 10 that is shutting down on you, this can be due to tags or other metal material coming into contact with the copper charging contacts on the TT 10. You will want to try changing the positions of any other collars you have, so they do not touch the charging contacts. If you can not do that, you can use a small piece of electrical tape to cover the contacts. If you have any other questions, please reply to this email.
With Best Regards, Scott___ Product Support SpecialistGarmin International


_________________________

"Onward up many a frightening creek, though your arms may get sore and your sneakers may leak. Oh! The places you'll go!" ~ Dr. Seuss

Top
#6557997 - 11/25/16 06:00 AM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
billybob Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 02/28/10
Posts: 3500
Loc: Southlake, TX, Billy Bob Ranch...
I've got the same unit and have never lost signal but it has gotten weak. I had recharged the batteries prior to the hunt and was getting good signals. then my signal weakened about 800 yrds out. I have a larger antenna on my golf cart and it picked it up immediately. If you're sure your battery is ok use the longer range antennas.. This is line of sight so if hills, creek beds are involved it will reduce your signal
_________________________
http://billybobknives.shutterfly.com

Top
#6558238 - 11/25/16 09:58 AM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
gary roberson Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/18/08
Posts: 1126
Update is what I would recommend because that is what Garmin will recommend. As previously stated, could be an antenna problem. Most likely the problem is in the collar if the handheld is working on other collars.
Adios,
Gary

Top
#6558368 - 11/25/16 12:28 PM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
bill oxner Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 11/03/09
Posts: 32557
Loc: Richmond
All my problems have been battery related except some interference from hunting rigs.
_________________________
Quail hunting is like walking into, and out of a beautiful painting all day long. Gene Hill




Top
#6558528 - 11/25/16 03:11 PM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
nak Online   sleepy
Tracker

Registered: 08/26/12
Posts: 783
Loc: DFW
Replace the battery and the antenna, and update the firmware.

Battery and antenna are available off Amazon and it takes about 10 min per collar.
_________________________
NRA Lifer / Member TSRA

Top
#6558751 - 11/25/16 07:16 PM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: nak]
bill oxner Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 11/03/09
Posts: 32557
Loc: Richmond
Originally Posted By: nak
Replace the battery and the antenna, and update the firmware.

Battery and antenna are available off Amazon and it takes about 10 min per collar.


That's easy for you to say.
_________________________
Quail hunting is like walking into, and out of a beautiful painting all day long. Gene Hill




Top
#6558829 - 11/25/16 08:23 PM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
blanked Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 06/03/07
Posts: 1299
Loc: magnolia tx
I have had 2 antennas go bad on my 220 handheld. Due to when I put it away when not used the antenna was bent leaning against a wall

Top
#6561640 - 11/28/16 05:22 AM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: o2bwest]
CCBIRDDOGMAN Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/16/07
Posts: 9276
Loc: CEDAR CREEK LAKE
We had a dc40 with broken spot in antenna that would do that. I replaced them with the longer stainless steel antennas and no more issues.
_________________________

Top
#6561777 - 11/28/16 07:44 AM Re: Garmin Alpha help needed [Re: bill oxner]
nak Online   sleepy
Tracker

Registered: 08/26/12
Posts: 783
Loc: DFW
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Originally Posted By: nak
Replace the battery and the antenna, and update the firmware.

Battery and antenna are available off Amazon and it takes about 10 min per collar.


That's easy for you to say.


It really is that quick. Remove the collar, remove three or four small screws, unplug the battery with the help of a very small screwdriver, do the same with the other connector, one more tiny screw to remove the battery holder, stick the new battery back in (with the end spacer from the old battery), replace the battery holder and that tiny screw.

IMHO, The most important part comes next and it's not found in on any of the online videos. Carefully remove the o-ring. Clean it with alcohol and clean both mating surfaces. Lubricate the o-ring with the just a little silicone grease and replace. Then you are ready to stuff the wires back in, plug the battery back in, then put the screws in. Take are not to overtorque the screws

Once you know what's inside, it really only takes about 10 min...but going slow the first time makes a lot of sense.

.
The antenna connection is under a different cover, but is pretty quick.
.



I never said updating firmware takes only 10 min. That was a pain, but did seem to address an issue with re-acquiring the collar.
_________________________
NRA Lifer / Member TSRA

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide