Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics537,769
Posts9,728,962
Members87,039
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
public land hunting- the challenge has me hooked! HELP!!! #6544221 11/15/16 12:51 PM
L
lunkerm Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
L
I'm still kind of high from this weekend's hunt with my daughter. We went to Balcones Canyonlands NWR and she got a pretty good buck, but it was the only deer we saw. BUT----

even though I am an amateur hunter. Even though I don't know come here from sic 'em when it comes to deer and hunting, this hunt was different than any other hunt I've been on. No feeders. No year-round access. No driving all over the place. No good times at camp with my buddies. It was more work. It was more frustrating. We saw only one deer. We walked further. And I loved every second of it.

I (think) I know now that if you'll put in the time, there is more reward in a wild buck on wild land. Those deer on the refuge aren't used to seeing a convoy of oil company pickups. They're not in the habit of hitting the same feeder 2X a day. They don't have unlimited protein to grow massive racks, and that deer that might not be all that impressive on a ranch just means more in the hard country.

My freezer is full of good meat- my kid raises show pigs and we eat the best pork on earth. I have plenty of venison and beef, too. What I want is not something for the freezer, I want something for ME- the satisfaction of doing it the hard way.

I'm going to learn to REALLY hunt- not just sit in a blind with a comfortable office chair, a heater, and a bag of snacks. I'm going to teach myself to be quiet, to be patient. i'm going to walk further and work harder and prepare better than some guy that's just wasting a weekend. I want the payoff. I want to know I did "more."