Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Hackertrap, mkk, RoberLaughlin, htxhunter34, J-Rod
61536 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 80575
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44029
BOBO the Clown 41814
BMD 40600
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 36733
txshntr 34217
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31087
facebook
Forum Stats
61536 Members
46 Forums
423065 Topics
5840325 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6541123 - 11/13/16 07:17 AM M1 Garland Ammo
Mook Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 10/15/11
Posts: 1232
Loc: Tyler, TX
Read once where current 30.06 manufactured ammo was not good for these older guns that it ran too hot.....

Do any of you have experience with Garands if so what are you using or what are you reloading with????

Top
#6541143 - 11/13/16 07:37 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
T Bone Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/20/09
Posts: 7302
Loc: Up in the cheap seats..
Use a Garand Gear gas plug, eliminates issues w/ high pressure ammo..
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Jungleexplorer
I really hate to do what I am about to do, because it will be very painful for you.



Top
#6541216 - 11/13/16 08:57 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
Tactical Cowboy Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Angelo
I believe the hornady manual has garand loads. And there are some garand-specific factory loads out there.
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Powder coated cast bullets available. https://www.facebook.com/lazyhbullets/

Top
#6541329 - 11/13/16 11:02 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
tth_40 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13874
Loc: North Texas.
I use the Grand Gear gas plugs. Definitely worth the easy and inexpensive swap.

Works well with Remington Core-Lokts. May shoot some pigs with them this year, we got 'em thick.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#6542694 - 11/14/16 08:44 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 10351
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Mook, if you need something specific, let me know. But yes, a max 30-06 load will be rough on the Garand. You want to make sure you use a faster burning powder to reduce the gas port pressure some, instead of the slower burning rifle powders commonly used in an 06.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6542818 - 11/14/16 09:49 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
jeepercreeper Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 11/07/10
Posts: 3812
Loc: DFW
M1 Garland. That's funny. I'm partial to the M1 Carbondale.

Top
#6543113 - 11/14/16 12:10 PM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
thedoveshooter Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 03/02/10
Posts: 1203
Loc: Tomball, TX
My match load:

Greek Surplus HPX Brass
168 grain Nosler Custom Competion HPBT
CCI 34 primer
47 grains Varget

This is a very accurate load for my rifle. Its also comfortable to shoot, but you lose some velocity. Mine Should be at 2750-2800 fps. I've shot 12 10's with 8 X's at 100 meters in my slow-fire prone (20 shots) with this load.


A bunch of info all in once place here: http://www.guns.com/2011/08/16/the-secre...-garand-part-i/

Basically, it boils down to powder burn rate. Too fast: bent opt-rod. Too slow: doesn't cycle. Pressure is important, but not as much as the power burn rate.

PPU/Prvi Partisan, Hornady, and a couple others load a Garand load.
_________________________
Fightin Texas Aggie Class of 2009


Top
#6543185 - 11/14/16 01:09 PM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
TX0303 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 09/08/16
Posts: 106
For range ammo, you can get Greek surplus from the CMP or ammogarand.com

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide