Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Karl, the Greatest, Leonard Blackburn, TXSportsman82, old badge, Marco808
63598 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 87020
stxranchman 52562
bill oxner 46139
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44356
BOBO the Clown 43467
BMD 40835
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35148
SnakeWrangler 34887
facebook
Forum Stats
63598 Members
45 Forums
451102 Topics
6233261 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6541123 - 11/13/16 07:17 AM M1 Garland Ammo
Mook Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 10/15/11
Posts: 1406
Loc: Tyler, TX
Read once where current 30.06 manufactured ammo was not good for these older guns that it ran too hot.....

Do any of you have experience with Garands if so what are you using or what are you reloading with????

Top
#6541143 - 11/13/16 07:37 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
Happy Birthday T Bone Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/20/09
Posts: 7490
Loc: Up in the cheap seats..
Use a Garand Gear gas plug, eliminates issues w/ high pressure ammo..
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Jungleexplorer
I really hate to do what I am about to do, because it will be very painful for you.



Top
#6541216 - 11/13/16 08:57 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
Tactical Cowboy Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 3500
Loc: Snyder
I believe the hornady manual has garand loads. And there are some garand-specific factory loads out there.
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Powder coated cast bullets available. https://www.facebook.com/lazyhbullets/

Top
#6541329 - 11/13/16 11:02 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
tth_40 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 14050
Loc: North Texas.
I use the Grand Gear gas plugs. Definitely worth the easy and inexpensive swap.

Works well with Remington Core-Lokts. May shoot some pigs with them this year, we got 'em thick.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#6542694 - 11/14/16 08:44 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 12697
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Mook, if you need something specific, let me know. But yes, a max 30-06 load will be rough on the Garand. You want to make sure you use a faster burning powder to reduce the gas port pressure some, instead of the slower burning rifle powders commonly used in an 06.
_________________________

Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6542818 - 11/14/16 09:49 AM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
jeepercreeper Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 11/07/10
Posts: 3945
Loc: DFW
M1 Garland. That's funny. I'm partial to the M1 Carbondale.

Top
#6543113 - 11/14/16 12:10 PM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
thedoveshooter Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 03/02/10
Posts: 1232
Loc: Tomball, TX
My match load:

Greek Surplus HPX Brass
168 grain Nosler Custom Competion HPBT
CCI 34 primer
47 grains Varget

This is a very accurate load for my rifle. Its also comfortable to shoot, but you lose some velocity. Mine Should be at 2750-2800 fps. I've shot 12 10's with 8 X's at 100 meters in my slow-fire prone (20 shots) with this load.


A bunch of info all in once place here: http://www.guns.com/2011/08/16/the-secre...-garand-part-i/

Basically, it boils down to powder burn rate. Too fast: bent opt-rod. Too slow: doesn't cycle. Pressure is important, but not as much as the power burn rate.

PPU/Prvi Partisan, Hornady, and a couple others load a Garand load.
_________________________
Fightin Texas Aggie Class of 2009


Top
#6543185 - 11/14/16 01:09 PM Re: M1 Garland Ammo [Re: Mook]
TX0303 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 09/08/16
Posts: 189
For range ammo, you can get Greek surplus from the CMP or ammogarand.com

Top



© 2004-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide