Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
BigHit, Sifat, TJWatkins, Jlivi1224, 65chevy
60473 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77465
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43786
BOBO the Clown 41117
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32656
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30571
facebook
Forum Stats
60473 Members
45 Forums
476077 Topics
6245182 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6529252 - 11/06/16 03:39 PM Large POI between factory and my reloads
hovercat Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/30/14
Posts: 430
Loc: Pantego, TX
I did a quick range trip to check my scope before hunting. I had zeroed the scope using my reloads. Since I only had a few loaded up, I tried some factory ammo first, and did not even put a hole in the 2' x 3' paper at 100 yards. Switched to the reloads and got a 3" group, just
off a front rest.
Is such a difference unusual?? I am puzzled but only have 3 centerfire rifles so not much of a sample.
Savage 99, .308 win caliber.
Factory ammo. Federal powershock 180gr soft point
Reloads. 36.5gr h335
Lake City cases trimmed 2.005"
Speer 165gr hot cor soft point
2.700 OAL
CCI LR primer

Top
#6529271 - 11/06/16 03:46 PM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: hovercat]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Not unusual.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6529308 - 11/06/16 03:59 PM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: hovercat]
hovercat Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/30/14
Posts: 430
Loc: Pantego, TX
Thanks.

Top
#6529384 - 11/06/16 04:39 PM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: FiremanJG]
Creedmoor Offline
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 688
Loc: Soon to be Hudson Oaks
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Not unusual.


Agreed. Not unusual at all.
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.


Top
#6529529 - 11/06/16 06:11 PM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: hovercat]
Murphscout Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 10/25/08
Posts: 1502
Loc: Marble Falls, TX
In fact I would say a likely event. Especially considering the bullet difference and likely velo diff too.

Top
#6529545 - 11/06/16 06:22 PM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: Creedmoor]
watchale Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 02/18/10
Posts: 1803
Loc: Tx
Originally Posted By: Creedmoor
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Not unusual.


Agreed. Not unusual at all.


Agreed as well.
_________________________

Top
#6529590 - 11/06/16 06:40 PM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: FiremanJG]
Tactical Cowboy Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 2845
Loc: Abilene
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Not unusual.


Yup
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Top
#6530200 - 11/07/16 06:35 AM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: hovercat]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9425
Loc: Lewisville, TX
If you asked me before you shot these with the data you gave, I'd say you would have a large POI difference. The main issue is the velocity with your reloads. You are running a below minimum load with H335 and a 165 grain bullet (not sure why). You're probably around 2200-2300 fps, which is very slow. Then you do have a different bullet, which should only cause a small difference.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6530319 - 11/07/16 07:46 AM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: ChadTRG42]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 23444
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
If you asked me before you shot these with the data you gave, I'd say you would have a large POI difference. The main issue is the velocity with your reloads. You are running a below minimum load with H335 and a 165 grain bullet (not sure why). You're probably around 2200-2300 fps, which is very slow. Then you do have a different bullet, which should only cause a small difference.


I have read savage 99's can be problematic when used with modern full power loads.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#6530332 - 11/07/16 07:53 AM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: hovercat]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9425
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Correct, you can't run full power 308 Win ammo in them. But 36.5 grain of H335 is a very light load.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6531790 - 11/07/16 07:07 PM Re: Large POI between factory and my reloads [Re: hovercat]
hovercat Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/30/14
Posts: 430
Loc: Pantego, TX
My old Lyman manual gives a starting load of 43.0, max 47.5. NRA manual says reduce about 3 grains for thicker military cases.
I started at 41 grains, and had trouble extracting. I ended up tapping out the case with a cleaning rod. So I pulled those loads, I had 3 cases loaded from 41 to 45 gr in 1/2 gr increments, and started again at 35-38gr.
36.5 gave me good accuracy over the iron sights, so I stopped there, since where I hunt 100 yards will be a long shot.
Dropping the OAL from 2.800 to 2.700 seemed to make feeding easier.
Only reason I can think of is that I might have a tight barrel. I have not slugged it, might do so after deer season.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide