Print Thread
Questions on Bedding Areas on Public Land #6520509 10/31/16 11:25 PM
D
DMan Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
D
I am hunting public land and I am fairly new to bow hunting. Looking for advice.

I am hiking in about 3/4 mile. I walk down a main trail for the first few hundred yards that is man made to get in. I then cross a descent sized opening that best I can tell is not used as bedding at any time by the deer. From there I go into trees and skirt along the edge of a ridge just on the top side of a creek bed until I get to the bowl at the end where all of the runoff gets down into the creek.
On the way back there is a large area covered in cedars that I walk past and I have noticed a decent amount of deer poop in there. I have not been seeing many deer lately.

My questions are:

1. What are the odds that the cedars is a bedding area and I am spooking the deer on the way in?

2. The entire public land is covered in trees. Lots of Oaks mixed with areas of cedar and elm trees. Also small fingers of a creeek everywhere. What are the best places that you would guess would be the daytime bedding areas? Without being able to look yourself of ccourse.

3. I found an alternate route to where I am hunting and it goes all the way to the South side of the property and loops around and comes in on the other side of the area. It uses another large man made trail. Would I be better off taking that long route in and hoping I don't spook deer on that side?

Thanks

Re: Questions on Bedding Areas on Public Land [Re: DMan] #6521017 11/01/16 03:44 AM
Sniper John Online Happy
gumshoe
Online Happy
gumshoe
1. good
2. Too broad a question. Every places is different. Where you are hunting take note of other places you have walked up bedded deer or seen sign.
3. yes