Page 1 of 2 1 2
Altitude Sickness - tidbits #6514728 10/27/16 07:48 PM
T
Theringworm Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
T
Let me preface this by stating I am no expert in the field of "Altitude Sickness", have never personally suffered from it, nor do I know everything about it. I simply want to provide a location where you might have some valid resources to:

1) Better understand the physiology behind it
2) Understand the different degrees/syndromes of Altitude Sickness and their severity (Acute Mountain Sickness, High Altitude Pulmonary Edema, & High Altitude Cerebral Edema
3) Know the best ways to prevent it
4) Provide some current evidence based articles regarding the treatment of it.

One of the best resources I have come across online is www.Altitude.org. This website provides as in-depth a description of what Altitude sickness is, it's pathophysiology, interactive charts showing altitude effects on oxygen carrying capacity etc. It essentially has it all. They also have created a "registry" for people that have suffered from a severe form of Altitude sickness known as "High Altitude Pulmonary Edema (HAPE)". I would be surprised if this website does not answer or address most of your questions regarding this topic. Another good source is the CDC. They talk about in what situations a person should or should not consider using Acetazolamide as prevention.

I will defer from re-writing definitions, causes, etc of Altitude Sickness since the website does a great job at answering those.

Current recommendations for "PREVENTION" of altitude sickness are the following:
- Acclimatization: above 8,000ft, ascend no faster than you bodies ability to acclimate. Usually 24 hours for every 1,000ft above 8,000ft (some variation in consensus here).