Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
IronVader, TrophyTheFilm, Steve Swearingen, HuntNewMexico, Kainsworth
61679 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 80954
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44064
BOBO the Clown 41958
BMD 40612
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 37451
txshntr 34251
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31151
facebook
Forum Stats
61679 Members
46 Forums
425336 Topics
5869971 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6503137 - 10/19/16 07:20 PM Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom????
WestTexasGolfer Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/11/12
Posts: 66
I have never had a scope with a zoom function on it and I am looking at purchasing one. I would like to know if there is a certain way to properly zero these scopes in? If I zero it at 100 yards zoomed all the way out if I zoom in at 100 yards does it affect the shot at all? I know this is probably a really basic question for some of the optics gurus but its new to me and I want more information before I go about purchasing one.

Top
#6503185 - 10/19/16 07:49 PM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: WestTexasGolfer]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 6840
Loc: Wise Co.
Point of impact should not change when magnification is changed. If it's a decent scope, that is. The early variables were criticized for changes in POI when magnification was changed, but that is pretty much no longer the case.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Cleric
God I am hating caliber threads more and more

Top
#6503323 - 10/19/16 09:04 PM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: WestTexasGolfer]
Creedmoor Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 1086
Golfer, there is a proper way to set up a scope, and if done otherwise you'll have problems. I could type it all out for you, but it is quicker to provide a link to the procedure. This was written by a person who is in the optics business and it is dead on. The set-up procedure is in the last 3rd of the article.

http://www.snipercountry.com/Articles/Parallax.asp
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.

The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.

Top
#6503363 - 10/19/16 09:35 PM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: WestTexasGolfer]
PWRANCH Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 04/19/16
Posts: 121
Loc: San Angelo, TX
That is a great article Creedmoor
_________________________

432-770-5722

Top
#6503376 - 10/19/16 09:45 PM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: Creedmoor]
WestTexasGolfer Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/11/12
Posts: 66
Originally Posted By: Creedmoor
Golfer, there is a proper way to set up a scope, and if done otherwise you'll have problems. I could type it all out for you, but it is quicker to provide a link to the procedure. This was written by a person who is in the optics business and it is dead on. The set-up procedure is in the last 3rd of the article.

http://www.snipercountry.com/Articles/Parallax.asp


Is there a video on this anywhere to explain it better? I really don't understand the parallax and how the reticle can "move" each time you look at it...???
CANCEL THAT I FOUND SEVERAL VIDEOS... MAKES PERFECT SENSE!!! THANK YOU FOR THE HELP


Edited by WestTexasGolfer (10/19/16 09:45 PM)

Top
#6503386 - 10/19/16 09:48 PM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: WestTexasGolfer]
Creedmoor Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 1086
Originally Posted By: WestTexasGolfer


Is there a video on this anywhere to explain it better? I really don't understand the parallax and how the reticle can "move" each time you look at it...???
CANCEL THAT I FOUND SEVERAL VIDEOS... MAKES PERFECT SENSE!!! THANK YOU FOR THE HELP


The main thing to remember is that once you FOCUS the scope eyepiece, you should never move it again. Lots of folks mess up by trying to focus the scope instead of adjusting the parallax setting.
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.

The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.

Top
#6503389 - 10/19/16 09:50 PM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: PWRANCH]
Creedmoor Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 1086
Originally Posted By: PWRANCH
That is a great article Creedmoor


A good friend wrote that a while back. He's forgotten more about scopes than I ever knew.
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.

The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.

Top
#6503451 - 10/19/16 10:21 PM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: WestTexasGolfer]
LFD2037 Online   happy
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/05/08
Posts: 7095
Loc: TEXAS
I believe most scopes have a certain magnification you're supposed to have it set on to sight in that particular scope. Should say in the owners manual.
_________________________
R.I.P. CPO Matt Mills-(DEVGRU)- You will NEVER be forgotten!
10-25-75 / 8-6-11 *K.I.A.*

Top
#6503567 - 10/20/16 05:44 AM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: LFD2037]
P_102 Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 09/23/08
Posts: 719
Loc: Grapevine
Originally Posted By: LFD2037
I believe most scopes have a certain magnification you're supposed to have it set on to sight in that particular scope. Should say in the owners manual.


No. But if you have a BDC, MOA or MIL reticle in a scope that is 'second focal plane' the graduations will only be accurate at a certain power, usually whatever is max. If it is a 'first focal plane' scope, those graduations change as you zoom in/out and are always accurate. P_102
_________________________
Do not trifle in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

Top
#6503676 - 10/20/16 07:50 AM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: P_102]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 20077
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: P_102
Originally Posted By: LFD2037
I believe most scopes have a certain magnification you're supposed to have it set on to sight in that particular scope. Should say in the owners manual.


No. But if you have a BDC, MOA or MIL reticle in a scope that is 'second focal plane' the graduations will only be accurate at a certain power, usually whatever is max. If it is a 'first focal plane' scope, those graduations change as you zoom in/out and are always accurate. P_102


P_102 is correct.

Zero will not be different on any magnification.

Hold overs will change, with magnification, on a second focal plane scope.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6503697 - 10/20/16 08:03 AM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: FiremanJG]
LFD2037 Online   happy
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/05/08
Posts: 7095
Loc: TEXAS
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: P_102
Originally Posted By: LFD2037
I believe most scopes have a certain magnification you're supposed to have it set on to sight in that particular scope. Should say in the owners manual.


No. But if you have a BDC, MOA or MIL reticle in a scope that is 'second focal plane' the graduations will only be accurate at a certain power, usually whatever is max. If it is a 'first focal plane' scope, those graduations change as you zoom in/out and are always accurate. P_102


P_102 is correct.

Zero will not be different on any magnification.

Hold overs will change, with magnification, on a second focal plane scope.

I guess I wasn't clear enough. I took it for granted that people understood the zero won't change w/magnification. I was poorly explaining how the reticle (BSC, MOA, Mil) on each scope has a 'set' magnification when zeroing that changes when the magnification is changed to a different setting (w/SFP scope). P_102 did a much better job of explaining what I was trying to say! up
_________________________
R.I.P. CPO Matt Mills-(DEVGRU)- You will NEVER be forgotten!
10-25-75 / 8-6-11 *K.I.A.*

Top
#6506515 - 10/22/16 11:23 AM Re: Stupid Question but... Scopes that zoom???? [Re: LFD2037]
Creedmoor Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 1086
Originally Posted By: LFD2037
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: P_102
Originally Posted By: LFD2037
I believe most scopes have a certain magnification you're supposed to have it set on to sight in that particular scope. Should say in the owners manual.


No. But if you have a BDC, MOA or MIL reticle in a scope that is 'second focal plane' the graduations will only be accurate at a certain power, usually whatever is max. If it is a 'first focal plane' scope, those graduations change as you zoom in/out and are always accurate. P_102


P_102 is correct.

Zero will not be different on any magnification.

Hold overs will change, with magnification, on a second focal plane scope.

I guess I wasn't clear enough. I took it for granted that people understood the zero won't change w/magnification. I was poorly explaining how the reticle (BSC, MOA, Mil) on each scope has a 'set' magnification when zeroing that changes when the magnification is changed to a different setting (w/SFP scope). P_102 did a much better job of explaining what I was trying to say! up


I think part of that confusion comes from the fact that not many adjustable AO or side focus scopes are accurate with the yardage markings. I have several and only a few are accurate. I use a small scribe to make marks on the adjustments so I can get them right.
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.

The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide