Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
GuyR, Ahornet55, Hunter307, Desmo, tripntx
60489 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77572
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43790
BOBO the Clown 41127
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32696
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30575
facebook
Forum Stats
60489 Members
45 Forums
476358 Topics
6249030 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6500352 - 10/18/16 08:14 AM Do any of you use GoPros
Deerhunter61 Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/08
Posts: 5555
Loc: DFW
When you are hunting? If so, how do you use them? Bow, rifle, attachments, apps? Challenges? My wife got me one for my birthday and I'm curious about how functional they are for hunting.

Thanks,

Top
#6500478 - 10/18/16 09:11 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
ZK-315 Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 10/11/13
Posts: 1560
Loc: Temple...Hunt in Freestone Co.
I don't know anything about the newer gopros and if they zoom or not, but I have a Hero2 and it does not zoom. I tried it once while hunting and without the zoom availability, it didn't do much for me, but I'm also a rifle hunter so....bow may be better? Not knocking it one bit as I love my gopro, just not for hunting.

Top
#6500496 - 10/18/16 09:19 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
Black02z28 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/29/08
Posts: 986
Loc: Terrell, TX
I use them when shooting pigs from the helicopter. Company called Strikemark makes rail adaptors for them.

Top
#6500515 - 10/18/16 09:36 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
Creedmoor Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 713
Loc: Soon to be Hudson Oaks
Good thread. I was wondering about these also and considering purchasing one.
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.


Top
#6500521 - 10/18/16 09:39 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
ZK-315 Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 10/11/13
Posts: 1560
Loc: Temple...Hunt in Freestone Co.
Without going through all the specs on the new ones, do the new ones have a zoom feature?

I saw a while back the newer ones have small displays on them, which is nice. On mine I had to point and shoot, remove from the case and hook up to a laptop to see if it was straight or not. Kind of a pain haha

Top
#6500534 - 10/18/16 09:47 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
Herbie Hancock Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/23/16
Posts: 468
Loc: Cypress, Texas
I want to get one and use it while bird hunting, but just can't seem to pull the trigger yet.

Top
#6500555 - 10/18/16 09:59 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
MacDaddy21 Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/19/11
Posts: 1659
Loc: CO
As far as I know they still dont have zoom. There are different lenses available though. If you buy one without a little screen on the back there is a gopro phone app you can use to see where the gopro is looking via Bluetooth.

Top
#6500558 - 10/18/16 10:00 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
titan2232 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 12/29/14
Posts: 3022
Loc: Conroe, TX
I used my Hero3 a few weeks ago to film (attempt is a better term) a few bucks from my pop-up blind. The said bucks were 15-20 yards away and were filmed from just a few feet inside my "DARKENED" blind.

Get back to camp with what I think is 8 solid short videos, but no sir. Every video is just a bright white spot with only one video adjusting to the light to dark as I apparently got closer to the open window of the blind.

I've had the camera for three years and was very disappointed of the first outcome.
_________________________


Top
#6500588 - 10/18/16 10:14 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
SniperRAB Offline
GRAMPS!!!

Registered: 03/26/12
Posts: 21181
Loc: Nurturing Biosphere Mothership
My Bride bought me one and hooked it up on my Bow on my Exotic Hunt a few years back..
I was trying to turn it on and focus it and almost fell out of a tree and animals could hear me for 2 miles cursing under my breath roflmao rofl

I took it off, to many moving parts and I need simple things cheers
_________________________

Top
#6500590 - 10/18/16 10:15 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
Navasot Offline
Natty Love

Registered: 09/22/11
Posts: 25963
Loc: Normangee/Navasota TX
I have one still new in the box... couldn't figure out how to turn it on
_________________________


http://www.j5tractors.com/

Top
#6500858 - 10/18/16 12:38 PM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: SniperRAB]
GOLDSTEIN Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 01/16/07
Posts: 8489
Loc: Keller, TX
Originally Posted By: SniperRAB
My Bride bought me one and hooked it up on my Bow on my Exotic Hunt a few years back..
I was trying to turn it on and focus it and almost fell out of a tree and animals could hear me for 2 miles cursing under my breath roflmao rofl

I took it off, to many moving parts and I need simple things cheers


You need one strapped to your head recording 24/7. The amount of money you could make as a reality series would be crazy.
_________________________


Retirement Planning & Asset Management
www.SullivanFinancialPartners.com

Top
#6501092 - 10/18/16 02:54 PM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: GOLDSTEIN]
Creedmoor Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 713
Loc: Soon to be Hudson Oaks
Originally Posted By: GOLDSTEIN
Originally Posted By: SniperRAB
My Bride bought me one and hooked it up on my Bow on my Exotic Hunt a few years back..
I was trying to turn it on and focus it and almost fell out of a tree and animals could hear me for 2 miles cursing under my breath roflmao rofl

I took it off, to many moving parts and I need simple things cheers


You need one strapped to your head recording 24/7. The amount of money you could make as a reality series would be crazy.


up roflmao
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.


Top
#6501292 - 10/18/16 04:52 PM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Navasot]
Deerhunter61 Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/08
Posts: 5555
Loc: DFW
Originally Posted By: Navasot
I have one still new in the box... couldn't figure out how to turn it on


Well, I have figured out this much...I think it will be great for bow hunting. The one my wife got me is the Hero 5 and this is the way I have thought about using it...I will set it up when I get in the stand/popup and control it with my iPhone. So all I will have to do is hit record right before my feeder goes off and then let it run. It can run for a couple of hours or until the deer leave the feeder. At least that is the best I have come up with so far...that's why I am asking you guys!

Top
#6501665 - 10/18/16 09:05 PM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
fish4food Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 09/27/16
Posts: 6
Not hunting, but my buddy has the new 5. We fished this morning and he turned his on at about 7 and the battery finally died about 10. In that time he recorded maybe 10 different fish for up to maybe 2-3 min. He did not have the wifi on as he was using the head mount. The wifi on my 4 silver kills the battery ,not sure how it does on the 5.

Top
#6502078 - 10/19/16 07:53 AM Re: Do any of you use GoPros [Re: Deerhunter61]
Dry Fire Offline


Registered: 06/15/09
Posts: 2730
Loc: Huntsville, AL
I've been thinking of attaching one to my boat. Just in case I ever catch a fish.
_________________________
After Monday and Tuesday, even the calendar says W T F

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide