Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
theredfish, Muhammas, Hunttexasandmexico, Big Worm78, Laredo Kid
62631 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 83175
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44267
BOBO the Clown 42700
bill oxner 40867
BMD 40619
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34806
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31412
facebook
Forum Stats
62631 Members
46 Forums
437884 Topics
6031658 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6491283 - 10/11/16 07:04 PM Mounting A Scope
LFD2037 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/05/08
Posts: 7588
Loc: TEXAS
I'm bored as hell & was watching some videos. Some popped up on mounting a scope & they all did it different than me. They leveled the gun then leveled the scope by setting a level on the top turret.
The way I've always done it is level the gun. Then level the scope by using a plumb bob across the room (as far away as I can) & match the vertical line in cross hairs to the plumb bob. I feel using the plumb bob & aligning w/cross hairs has got to be more precise than using a level on a turret cap or turret. Thoughts?
_________________________
R.I.P. CPO Matt Mills-(DEVGRU)- You will NEVER be forgotten!
10-25-75 / 8-6-11 *K.I.A.*

Top
#6491288 - 10/11/16 07:07 PM Re: Mounting A Scope [Re: LFD2037]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21752
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Your way is better. More than once I've seen the level on top of the scope cause a canted reticle.

Another technique is feeler gauges between the bottom flat of the scope and the pic rail to get them parallel. But I believe the plum bob is better than that as well.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6491717 - 10/12/16 01:50 AM Re: Mounting A Scope [Re: LFD2037]
booradley Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 2001
Loc: Justin, TX
I've had many turrets not be flat. Your way is better. You can also use a Reticle-Tru which works very well.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=0V8y7daTG9E
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
#6491740 - 10/12/16 05:45 AM Re: Mounting A Scope [Re: FiremanJG]
colt45 Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/19/06
Posts: 7333
Loc: bastrop county
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Your way is better. More than once I've seen the level on top of the scope cause a canted reticle.

Another technique is feeler gauges between the bottom flat of the scope and the pic rail to get them parallel. But I believe the plum bob is better than that as well.
do you check the reticle for true as you are tightening the screws? I have noticed that as you are setting the screws the reticle will move.
_________________________
hold on Newt, we got a runaway

Top
#6491750 - 10/12/16 06:08 AM Re: Mounting A Scope [Re: colt45]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21752
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
If I notice one moving, I'll put timing marks on the tube of the scope and the ring cap with a pencil. I tighten ring caps in a particular order to keep all things equal, and only go to half torque on the first pass. Keep the marks lines up as you're moving around tightening the screws.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6492193 - 10/12/16 10:46 AM Re: Mounting A Scope [Re: LFD2037]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 26255
Loc: Texas
I have mounted few scopes, but from what I have done if everything is straight and true it is a breeze. If something with the gun is off its a cluster duck. My savage something was off from the factory and burris sig. Z rings were a life saver.

I used a level on the cap at the time, but think it is a little off. Will try your trick and use the plumb line. I also had trouble with scope moving while torqueing it down, took 3 trys to get it right.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#6492343 - 10/12/16 12:30 PM Re: Mounting A Scope [Re: FiremanJG]
TxHunter80 Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 01/04/15
Posts: 444
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
If I notice one moving, I'll put timing marks on the tube of the scope and the ring cap with a pencil. I tighten ring caps in a particular order to keep all things equal, and only go to half torque on the first pass. Keep the marks lines up as you're moving around tightening the screws.


That's a good tip. It seems like it always takes me a few times to get it right, even with the levels.

Top
#6492464 - 10/12/16 01:39 PM Re: Mounting A Scope [Re: booradley]
Jgraider Offline
Tracker

Registered: 06/13/15
Posts: 641
Loc: West Texas
Originally Posted By: booradley
I've had many turrets not be flat. Your way is better. You can also use a Reticle-Tru which works very well.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=0V8y7daTG9E


More than one reticle has come from the factory canted within the scope, which is why I do not use a level on top of the turret. You may get the scope level that way, but not necessarily the reticle. I agree......the Reticle-Tru is a simple and trouble free way to mount a scope with a level to the bore reticle.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide