Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Casper, Grandpa Jay, B bar W, JamesO, hogcaller10
60401 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77295
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43774
BOBO the Clown 41081
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33682
bill oxner 32552
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30552
facebook
Forum Stats
60401 Members
45 Forums
475453 Topics
6237254 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6484452 - 10/06/16 07:50 PM bullet swapping a factory load
Korean Redneck Online   content


Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 2274
Loc: Houston
I ordered an rcbs bullet puller made to used on the press. Great tool. I had an idear. In theory I could get a factory load of something cheap, like prvi ammo, and simply pull the bullet and reseat a bullet I do want.

Why would this be a bad idea? Point of reference, I had 6.5 Grendel in mind since I'm dying to build one.

Top
#6484477 - 10/06/16 08:03 PM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
Creedmoor Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 608
Loc: Soon to be Hudson Oaks
Not necessarily a bad idea .... but you need to use caution. You'll need to weight a few of the pulled bullets to verify the weight (don't believe what's printed on the box) and replace with a bullet of the same weight +/- 5 grains. And a bullet of the same general configuration seated to the same depth would likely be the safest route. But I wouldn't necessarily expect excellent accuracy, either. Otherwise I can't think of any problems that you might encounter. Personally I wouldn't go that route. If you're going to spend the time to do that you can probably just reload new from the beginning and get better accuracy and consistency for not much more money. Sometimes cutting corners isn't the best way to do things. wink I'd rather see you discard the powder and replace it as well. At least that way you can duplicate the load later on.

Maybe some others may see a problem that I do not?
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.


Top
#6484521 - 10/06/16 08:26 PM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Not a bad idea.

Tell you what I would do, after pulling bullets, and that is pour the powder into a pan, on a scale, then into one big container. Do that 10 times, and find a mean powder charge "they" loaded. After that, set up to reload that powder charge to the .1 gr for as many as you have components for. And I agree that you need to stay within the same bullet weight.

Of course I would only call these "barrel fouling", "fire forming" loads.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6484598 - 10/06/16 09:15 PM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
603Country Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 07/03/12
Posts: 4861
Loc: Central Texas
Since you haven't pulled the bullets yet, you haven't seen that the puller will leave a circle dent around the bullet. That deformation worried me, but bullet accuracy was not noticeably worse (at 100 yards).

Top
#6484633 - 10/06/16 09:36 PM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
Korean Redneck Online   content


Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 2274
Loc: Houston
The idear I had was IF I shot some thing like wolf 120gr Grendel with brass case in my currently imaginary ar and it shot well THEN I can pull whatever out and replace it with something like a hornady 123gr sst and see what happens. I'm not sure what I would do with a bunch of bullets with the ring. Because it was there only the bullet I did have to pull.

If I were to attempt this, would it be smart to neck size without a primer tool?

Top
#6484643 - 10/06/16 09:41 PM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 6193
Loc: Wise Co.
What is "neck sizing without a primer tool?"
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Cleric
God I am hating caliber threads more and more

Top
#6484662 - 10/06/16 09:55 PM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
Korean Redneck Online   content


Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 2274
Loc: Houston
I don't always know what everything is or its proper name. I thought there was a die that doesn't mess with headspace, it just resizes the neck of the case only. I thought this die works like the fl die and has a threaded piece that pops the spent primer off.

Top
#6484747 - 10/07/16 03:54 AM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
possom813 Online   shocked
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 09/07/09
Posts: 2123
Loc: Cayuga
_________________________
I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.

Top
#6484788 - 10/07/16 05:55 AM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: RiverRider]
blackcoal Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 01/19/12
Posts: 7557
Loc: 60 Mi North of DFW
Originally Posted By: RiverRider
What is "neck sizing without a primer tool?"


Minus decapping pin but you know that cheers
_________________________
The Greatest Enemy of knowledge is not ignorance,
it is the illusion of knowledge.--Stephen Hawking

Top
#6484795 - 10/07/16 06:03 AM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
Blanco Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/29/10
Posts: 789
Loc: Ft.Worth
You can do that with the Lee collet neck sizing die
_________________________

My dog gives me the bird!

Top
#6484818 - 10/07/16 06:43 AM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: Korean Redneck
I don't always know what everything is or its proper name. I thought there was a die that doesn't mess with headspace, it just resizes the neck of the case only. I thought this die works like the fl die and has a threaded piece that pops the spent primer off.


You can use a full length bushing die. Back the die out of the press where it does not bump shoulders, and remove the decapping stem.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6484835 - 10/07/16 07:00 AM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
Korean Redneck Online   content


Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 2274
Loc: Houston
My question is...

If I were to do this whole thing, then should I resize the neck after pulling the bullet?

Top
#6484900 - 10/07/16 07:57 AM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
redchevy Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 23348
Loc: Texas
I would just keep it simple and not do this.

Chances are the bullet is the most consisten part of the whole equation you bought the biggest variable is powder charge. For what all your going to have to do to make it consistent you may as well start from scratch or buy better factory ammo.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#6484989 - 10/07/16 08:45 AM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: 603Country]
syncerus Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 1989
Loc: Dallas, TX
Originally Posted By: 603Country
Since you haven't pulled the bullets yet, you haven't seen that the puller will leave a circle dent around the bullet. That deformation worried me, but bullet accuracy was not noticeably worse (at 100 yards).


Studies have shown that it's damage to the base of the bullet that causes the most inaccuracy. I've heard that lots of guys did the bullet replacement trick with military .30-06 ammo back in the day (50s and 60s). By all accounts it worked quite well for hunting purposes, but you obviously need to apply common sense and, as others have suggested, use a conventional bullet of a profile similar to the replaced bullet.
_________________________
NRA Endowment & DSC Lifer

Top
#6485109 - 10/07/16 09:50 AM Re: bullet swapping a factory load [Re: Korean Redneck]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9393
Loc: Lewisville, TX
You want to take some "high quality" Wolf ammo, pull the bullet, and insert the bullet of your choice? And you want this to shoot great, I bet!? If you do this, you will get to shoot the bullet you want. Then you're going to complain about how bad it shoots afterward. There's too many items to list on why this is a BAD idea. Just shoot this ammo up, and now you have some cases to reload, and start from there. There are WAY too many variables that will make the pulling of a factory bullet and putting a new bullet in a bad idea.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide