Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JLadner, bubbleheadhunter775, Casper, Grandpa Jay, B bar W
60403 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77304
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43776
BOBO the Clown 41081
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33682
bill oxner 32555
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30552
facebook
Forum Stats
60403 Members
45 Forums
475474 Topics
6237513 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6477063 - 10/02/16 12:12 PM FPS without Chrono
bigjoe8565 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/30/08
Posts: 3818
Loc: Mesquite, Tx
Is there a way to get close on FPS without the aid of a Chrono?

Shooting 165 grain SST over 44 grains of Varget out of an 18 inch 308 bolt gun.

Top
#6477073 - 10/02/16 12:23 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 6194
Loc: Wise Co.
Yes, you can get close by shooting at various ranges and using trajectory...BUT, it involves the BC of your bullet also and sometimes published BCs just don't match up to the real world. Another complication can result from the quality of stabilization. There is an ideal BC that may be published for any bullet but it assumes perfect stabilization. On each individual real-world shot, though, there will be an actual achieved BC. It can all be pretty complicated because there are variables you can't nail down.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Cleric
God I am hating caliber threads more and more

Top
#6477087 - 10/02/16 12:32 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
parkj5 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 09/05/04
Posts: 119
Loc: Bentley La..
A chrono is a must for any reloader.. Best way to find pressure.. and test temp sensitive powders also.
_________________________
parkj5

Top
#6477160 - 10/02/16 01:30 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: parkj5]
Creedmoor Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 610
Loc: Soon to be Hudson Oaks
Originally Posted By: parkj5
A chrono is a must for any reloader.. Best way to find pressure.. and test temp sensitive powders also.


Just to add, it's only ONE thing in interpreting pressures. Your eyes can tell you more than any chronograph ever will when it comes to pressure signs. It's a good tool, but depending on it to show pressure signs is a recipe for disaster.
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.


Top
#6477229 - 10/02/16 02:51 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
syncerus Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 1989
Loc: Dallas, TX
That said, high velocity is a great and unerring indicator of pressure where there are no visible signs.
_________________________
NRA Endowment & DSC Lifer

Top
#6477262 - 10/02/16 03:14 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
Ranch Dog Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 07/15/05
Posts: 1078
Loc: Cuero
Pressure Trace II, been shooting one for 12 years now.

Top
#6477285 - 10/02/16 03:42 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: Creedmoor]
Jgraider Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 06/13/15
Posts: 256
Loc: West Texas
Originally Posted By: Creedmoor
Originally Posted By: parkj5
A chrono is a must for any reloader.. Best way to find pressure.. and test temp sensitive powders also.


Just to add, it's only ONE thing in interpreting pressures. Your eyes can tell you more than any chronograph ever will when it comes to pressure signs. It's a good tool, but depending on it to show pressure signs is a recipe for disaster.


And vice versa as well. You can reach pressure way before you see any of the typical 'signs". Velocity is all about pressure.

Top
#6477294 - 10/02/16 03:53 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 6194
Loc: Wise Co.
Absolutely correct!
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Cleric
God I am hating caliber threads more and more

Top
#6477326 - 10/02/16 04:12 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
Buzzsaw Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 06/29/11
Posts: 5023
Loc: Frisco, Texas
if your pressure signs are good and accuracy is good, you really don't need a chrono, went many, many years killing deer without one.

if you are using your load for 500 yard and out, you might, but with a hunting load as stated above, no chrono needed
_________________________
"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Straight



Top
#6477390 - 10/02/16 04:46 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
Creedmoor Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 610
Loc: Soon to be Hudson Oaks
Originally Posted By: Jgraider
[ You can reach pressure way before you see any of the typical 'signs". Velocity is all about pressure.


So you guys are saying that if you work up a load (with appropriate powders for the caliber) without a chronograph you can blow up a gun before you see any pressure signs? No flattened primers, sticky bolt lifts, or other signs? Is that what you are saying?
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.


Top
#6477442 - 10/02/16 05:30 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 6194
Loc: Wise Co.
No, not at all. A gun doesnt blow up because you're two or three thousand psi over pressure. But, you can easily reach 70000 psi or more before pressure signs appear.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Cleric
God I am hating caliber threads more and more

Top
#6477444 - 10/02/16 05:33 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 6194
Loc: Wise Co.
Velocity is just another indicator, like the other well known pressure signs are...but it's a very good indicator, even if it's not 100% reliable---and it is NOT.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Cleric
God I am hating caliber threads more and more

Top
#6477445 - 10/02/16 05:34 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
postoak Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/19/09
Posts: 2528
Loc: The Woodlands, Tx
Anyone remember the Powley Computer? According to the article, it was introduced in 1963.

http://www.shootingtimes.com/ammo/ammunition_st_powleycomp_200901/
_________________________
There are two types of people, those who divide people into two types and those who don't.

Top
#6477458 - 10/02/16 05:44 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
postoak Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/19/09
Posts: 2528
Loc: The Woodlands, Tx
Oh, someone put the Powley Computer online.

Powley Computer
_________________________
There are two types of people, those who divide people into two types and those who don't.

Top
#6477565 - 10/02/16 06:53 PM Re: FPS without Chrono [Re: bigjoe8565]
bigjoe8565 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/30/08
Posts: 3818
Loc: Mesquite, Tx
I have no pressure signs at 44 or even 44.5, but at 45 the bolt got a little stiff to open. My accuracy node is 44 grains of Varget .75" on average, but at 44.5 my accuracy is 1-1.1"on average.

I was looking for FPS to run the data through a ballistic calculator. Guess I'll buy a chrono. Any recommendations on a reliable chrono that won't break the bank?

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide