Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Cl3anslat3, VirginiaHunter, GoGo Gadjet, koondawgman, orlandowiebe
60480 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77512
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43788
BOBO the Clown 41125
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32683
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30572
facebook
Forum Stats
60480 Members
45 Forums
476219 Topics
6247015 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6475457 - 09/30/16 07:59 PM 2 guns, 1 scope
LFD2037 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/05/08
Posts: 6338
Loc: TEXAS
Any of y'all swap a scope between multiple guns? I'm thinking of swapping my Burris XTR II between my DPMS Gen 2 Recon .308 w/16" barrel and my Remmy Tactical .308 20" barrel. Using Talley Tactical 34mm rings & a Talley Tactical base on the Remmy.
Good/bad idea? Anybody do something similar & know the POI difference (just a ballpark for my curiosity).
_________________________
R.I.P. CPO Matt Mills-(DEVGRU)- You will NEVER be forgotten!
10-25-75 / 8-6-11 *K.I.A.*

Top
#6475557 - 09/30/16 09:50 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: LFD2037]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20303
Loc: Texas
It works quite well with scopes such as the XTR that track well and repeatable. FiremanJG did a good thread on this in the last year. When using a scope for multiple guns record the differences in zero between the guns, there will most likely be some changes to have it zeroed for each rifle. Record those differences when switching the scope between the guns then verify the changes when changing with a few shots. A few times switching then verification gets the familiarity and confidence in your setups.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6475564 - 09/30/16 09:58 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: kmon1]
LFD2037 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/05/08
Posts: 6338
Loc: TEXAS
Originally Posted By: kmon1
It works quite well with scopes such as the XTR that track well and repeatable. FiremanJG did a good thread on this in the last year. When using a scope for multiple guns record the differences in zero between the guns, there will most likely be some changes to have it zeroed for each rifle. Record those differences when switching the scope between the guns then verify the changes when changing with a few shots. A few times switching then verification gets the familiarity and confidence in your setups.


I'll search for his thread. Thanks!
_________________________
R.I.P. CPO Matt Mills-(DEVGRU)- You will NEVER be forgotten!
10-25-75 / 8-6-11 *K.I.A.*

Top
#6475618 - 09/30/16 11:41 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: LFD2037]
Chuckw Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/05/14
Posts: 122
I thought about the same concept except two scopes for one rifle. One for hunting and one for range work.

Top
#6477479 - 10/02/16 06:00 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: LFD2037]
Creedmoor Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 09/12/16
Posts: 695
Loc: Soon to be Hudson Oaks
If you have a range handy and are willing to re-check the POI every time you change from one rifle to the other it will be fine. Relying on a "known" difference and changing the scope settings without physically firing the rifle and assuring the scope is zeroed is taking a huge chance on an assumption. WAY too many things that could change. Torque on the rings or mounts can change POI. I wouldn't go into the field with a scope that has been removed from the gun and not had the POI confirmed. Even if you have the quick-disconnect mounts they aren't 100% reliable. I've seen them not return to zero after removal / re-installation.
_________________________
.
There's a fine line between BRAVE ... and STUPID.


Top
#6477790 - 10/02/16 09:34 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: LFD2037]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: LFD2037
Originally Posted By: kmon1
It works quite well with scopes such as the XTR that track well and repeatable. FiremanJG did a good thread on this in the last year. When using a scope for multiple guns record the differences in zero between the guns, there will most likely be some changes to have it zeroed for each rifle. Record those differences when switching the scope between the guns then verify the changes when changing with a few shots. A few times switching then verification gets the familiarity and confidence in your setups.


I'll search for his thread. Thanks!


I need to do this real quick one day, and take pics. I have three scopes and six rifles. I swap scopes around all the time. I did it on Thursday. Took the scope off the 6.5 Creedmoor, bolted it down to the 7 Rem Mag. Checked the bore sight, by looking down the barrel, and it looked good enough that I didn't dial anything. Shot one round from the 7 and saw it 1.4 Mil high, and .3 left. I dialed those corrections, and fired a second shot, done. Then I wrote the notes of what I had just learned in the 7 Rem Mag spiral notebook. This week I'll move that scope back to the 6.5 Creedmoor. There is a good likelihood that I can dial the corrections, fire one shot, and the process is finished. But I do agree to confirm the scope/ rifle zero on paper before taking the rig hunting.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6480389 - 10/04/16 01:05 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: LFD2037]
Tipps Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/12/13
Posts: 106
i've thought about doing the same thing, with a quick detach Larue mount. Be nice to buy one $2k scope and be able to use on 2 guns, but I'd be nervous to use without re-zeroing everytime.

Top
#6480431 - 10/04/16 01:22 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: FiremanJG]
maximum Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/30/09
Posts: 1511
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
. . . But I do agree to confirm the scope/ rifle zero on paper before taking the rig hunting.

^ ^ ^ ^ ^

jmho
i don't like to fiddle with a zeroed hunting rifle even if
it did have quality q.d. mounts.
if it were where i needed to use a hunting rifle then a
target rifle, i'd have the appropriate separate optic for each one.

Top
#6480618 - 10/04/16 02:56 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: maximum]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Some people like $1000-$3000 scopes. Not everyone can afford one for every rifle. That's the point of this discussion.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6480626 - 10/04/16 03:01 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: FiremanJG]
rickym Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/14/15
Posts: 3890
Loc: texas
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Some people like $1000-$3000 scopes. Not everyone can afford one for every rifle. That's the point of this discussion.


Not everyone can afford one period. back
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Roll-Tide
Any ideas how to make it hard?

Top
#6482587 - 10/05/16 05:25 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: FiremanJG]
colt45 Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/19/06
Posts: 5395
Loc: bastrop county
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Some people like $1000-$3000 scopes. Not everyone can afford one for every rifle. That's the point of this discussion.
thanks for making that point
_________________________
hold on Newt, we got a runaway

Top
#6482595 - 10/05/16 05:29 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: LFD2037]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9433
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Originally Posted By: LFD2037
Any of y'all swap a scope between multiple guns? I'm thinking of swapping my Burris XTR II between my DPMS Gen 2 Recon .308 w/16" barrel and my Remmy Tactical .308 20" barrel. Using Talley Tactical 34mm rings & a Talley Tactical base on the Remmy.
Good/bad idea? Anybody do something similar & know the POI difference (just a ballpark for my curiosity).


I swap my main Night Force scope on my Surgeon 308 to many rifles, including multiple customers' rifles for load work up. I can get on target and zero'd generally in 3-5 rounds. I swap scopes all the time.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6482731 - 10/05/16 07:06 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: LFD2037]
LFD2037 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/05/08
Posts: 6338
Loc: TEXAS
I've decided I'll do this. Need to get a Badger Ordinance 22moa riser for my AR .308 & should be GTG. Thanks for all the input!
_________________________
R.I.P. CPO Matt Mills-(DEVGRU)- You will NEVER be forgotten!
10-25-75 / 8-6-11 *K.I.A.*

Top
#6482877 - 10/05/16 08:30 PM Re: 2 guns, 1 scope [Re: LFD2037]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Yup, you'll be fixed up with that riser on your AR. Then just move the scope and rigs to a bolt action, with a 20 MOA base. Big piece of paper at 100, two rounds later it's zeroed.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide