6237379 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6445569 - 09/09/16 05:40 PM Maybe I am not as bad as I think I am
Bigfoot Offline
Tracker

Loc: Galveston Bay
Here is my last trip at the 200 yard range back in March with the 30-06. I suck I know! Now granted I am not an expert and I have only been shooting for the past 5 years with only a dozen trips or so a year to the range. But I should be better than this. MY AR with a 3X shoots about the same at this range. But I think I just discovered why I am shooting so poorly. My free float barrel is not free floating. I can not get a dollar bill between the stock and the barrel and the stock is definitely touching the barrel on both sides.

Should I just remove my stock and file it down or send it to Beretta because its a SAKO? I really dont want to send it in with hunting season around the corner.

Should I sand it down myself or should I send it to my local gunsmith and have him do it more professionally than I can?

What say you guys that are more experienced than me.

Edited by Bigfoot (09/09/16 05:43 PM)

#6445670 - 09/09/16 06:42 PM Re: Maybe I am not as bad as I think I am [Re: Bigfoot]
Tff caribou Offline
Veteran Tracker

Loc: Watauga, TX
Wooden dowel wrapped in sand paper. It'll look professional.

#6445713 - 09/09/16 07:07 PM Re: Maybe I am not as bad as I think I am [Re: Bigfoot]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Loc: North Texas.
And while the action is out of the stock, I'd bed it.

#6445949 - 09/09/16 09:29 PM Re: Maybe I am not as bad as I think I am [Re: Bigfoot]
OkieDokie Online   happy
Tracker

Loc: southern OK
I would send it to Chad,then when you get it back you'll have a gun and ammo and ready to go hunt.

#6446022 - 09/09/16 11:02 PM Re: Maybe I am not as bad as I think I am [Re: Bigfoot]
Cleric Offline
Veteran Tracker

If your ar and 30-06 shoot about the same I am not sure I would say it's the gun...