Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Yeehaw03, entropy, Texita, mrdagger, Deats
62651 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 83233
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44267
BOBO the Clown 42720
bill oxner 40963
BMD 40619
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34818
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31412
facebook
Forum Stats
62651 Members
46 Forums
438143 Topics
6035007 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6445516 - 09/09/16 04:36 PM Burris PEPR
SapperTitan Online   content
Taking Requests

Registered: 11/17/10
Posts: 22612
Loc: Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
So I've been running my Armasight Vampire on my 223 AR but wanted to run it on my 6.8 SPC. I was hoping to be able to just swap optics and everything would hold zero but that's not the case. Zeroed Armasight swapped back to my SWFA 1-4 and it was .5 MIL low and .3 MIL off on windage bang . Guess I need to upgrade to a higher quality mount with QD. I was expecting maybe a slight POI change but not half a MIL.


Edited by SapperTitan (09/09/16 04:37 PM)
_________________________


Top
#6445520 - 09/09/16 04:41 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
BigPig Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 10838
Loc: Forney, Tx
They make a QR version, is that the one you tried?
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#6445705 - 09/09/16 07:04 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
booradley Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 2001
Loc: Justin, TX
I don't understand your question.
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
#6445727 - 09/09/16 07:12 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: booradley]
SapperTitan Online   content
Taking Requests

Registered: 11/17/10
Posts: 22612
Loc: Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Originally Posted By: booradley
I don't understand your question.
that's bc I didn't ask a question. I was just stating my disappointment in the PEPR
_________________________


Top
#6445836 - 09/09/16 08:13 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
Happy Birthday swmays Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 01/06/10
Posts: 6144
Loc: Dallas / Hopkins Co.
Pardon my ignorance, but taking a mounted scope of one rifle and installing it on another rifle should yield less then a 1.8" difference in POI? How do you know it's not the rail/rifle?

I know, my ignorance is showing...

Top
#6445843 - 09/09/16 08:19 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: swmays]
KRoyal Online   sleepy
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/24/07
Posts: 14877
Loc: Sherman/North of Dallas
Originally Posted By: swmays
Pardon my ignorance, but taking a mounted scope of one rifle and installing it on another rifle should yield less then a 1.8" difference in POI? How do you know it's not the rail/rifle?

I know, my ignorance is showing...


He is saying the SWFA 1-4 he took off his 6.8 to put his NV on then put then 1-4x back on his 6.8 expecting it to be close if not still zero'd.

Sapper you need that LaRue LT139 I have for sale in classifieds grin LaRue is supposed to return to zero I've never actually tried it before though.
_________________________



Top
#6445850 - 09/09/16 08:26 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
Happy Birthday swmays Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 01/06/10
Posts: 6144
Loc: Dallas / Hopkins Co.
O.I.C. Thanks.

Nice shemagh, too.

Top
#6445892 - 09/09/16 08:57 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21784
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: SapperTitan
Guess I need to upgrade to a higher quality mount


Yes, you do.

You can skip the QD if you really want return to zero, and you can manage a torque driver and a half inch socket. Torque it the same every time, and I bet you get what you want.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6445985 - 09/09/16 09:56 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
booradley Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 2001
Loc: Justin, TX
I've read on numerous occasions that some PEPR mounts return to zero and most don't. So I guess it would pay to upgrade. I do have a PEPR QD. The only reason I'd remove the optic from the AR is if the optic failed and I needed to use the iron sights. For that purpose it works fine.
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
#6445994 - 09/09/16 10:26 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: booradley]
SapperTitan Online   content
Taking Requests

Registered: 11/17/10
Posts: 22612
Loc: Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Originally Posted By: booradley
I've read on numerous occasions that some PEPR mounts return to zero and most don't. So I guess it would pay to upgrade. I do have a PEPR QD. The only reason I'd remove the optic from the AR is if the optic failed and I needed to use the iron sights. For that purpose it works fine.
I'm just looking to be able to swap between my daytime and nighttime optics. I really like shooting pigs with my 16 in 6.8SPC so I'd like to be able to run both optics but it may be a little unrealistic. May just have to save up and then sell the Armasight and get a clip on NV that I can just place in front of my daytime optic.
_________________________


Top
#6446747 - 09/10/16 04:57 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
Toxarch Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 03/09/11
Posts: 1830
Loc: Parker County
Sounds to me like you need a second 6.8 rifle.
_________________________
It is far more important to be able to hit the target than it is to haggle over who makes a weapon or who pulls a trigger.

— Dwight D. Eisenhower

Top
#6446846 - 09/10/16 06:42 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: Toxarch]
TXHOGSLAYER Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/12/12
Posts: 13778
Loc: Katy, TX
Originally Posted By: Toxarch
Sounds to me like you need a second 6.8 rifle.


This
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Ojai Hunter
This is great! I haven't had a happy ending in quite a while !

Top
#6447237 - 09/11/16 07:53 AM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: Toxarch]
SapperTitan Online   content
Taking Requests

Registered: 11/17/10
Posts: 22612
Loc: Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Originally Posted By: Toxarch
Sounds to me like you need a second 6.8 rifle.
actually I do have another 6.8 it's a 10.5 in SBR that has a red dot on top. Just really wanted to use my 16 in but may give the SBR a try.
_________________________


Top
#6448473 - 09/12/16 08:09 AM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
aggiehunter03 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/13/09
Posts: 2588
Loc: Mineral Wells, Texas
Originally Posted By: SapperTitan
Originally Posted By: Toxarch
Sounds to me like you need a second 6.8 rifle.
actually I do have another 6.8 it's a 10.5 in SBR that has a red dot on top. Just really wanted to use my 16 in but may give the SBR a try.


Sounds like you need a THIRD 6.8.
_________________________


Top
#6449084 - 09/12/16 03:40 PM Re: Burris PEPR [Re: SapperTitan]
Loaded Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/25/11
Posts: 523
Loc: Huntington, TX
I use a LaRue on my LR-308 and it returns to zero with no issues. I've also heard good things about GG&G and American Defense.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide